Maintenance Costs & Long-Term Reliability?

Discussion in 'General VFR Discussions' started by LitzerSki, Nov 13, 2007.

1. LitzerSki

LitzerSki New Member

Map
    Hi guys...new to the forum & prospective VFR owner here. This post is mainly geared towards 6th Generation owners, but I'm grateful for every bit of input from you all.

First off, I'm new to the sport-touring world. Currently I own 2 Triumph air cooled twins...the Thruxton & Bonneville America. I'm looking to sell my America (can't stand the cruiser style anymore) and pick up something that will better fill my current needs.

So far I've test-ridden the '07 VFR, the Triumph Sprint, and the BMW F800ST. The BMW had PERFECT ergos, but didn't seem to be a proper long-haul bike...also many have reported engine & ABS problems. I'm currently up in the air between the Triumph and the Honda. Now note that I have absolutely no brand loyalty, but the Sprint is a fine bike. After sitting down with a few Triumph techs, they reassured me that I could do all of the regular mantenance myself as long as I have a shop manual and the proper tools, which I would invest in.

Currently, I'm looking for my Iron-Butt bike. Something I can get on in the morning, not stop till I'm in GA, and then ride the hell out of those Northern Georgia mountains when I'm down there. I ride 20,000 miles a year and plan on riding my next bike till its death, so resale value doesn't matter at all to me. I plan on owning my next bike for around 5 years and running it for about 100,000 miles. But maintenance costs do matter to me. I can't afford 3 sets of tires a year, paying big $$ for insurance (as I know will happen), and pay $400 3 times per year to have my bike in the shop. Currently I perform all maintenance (including valve jobs) on my 2 bikes and consider myself quite competent at spinning a wrench. Of course, the air-cooled Triumph twins are very user friendly, and I learned all I know from working on them.