Countersteering explained with video?

Discussion in 'New Riders' started by gsdfriendly, Mar 27, 2008.

1. gsdfriendly

gsdfriendly New Member

Hi all,

Just purchased new bike and I am trying to sharpen my skills with limited risk of a crash or damage to the bike. I'm a relatively new rider and I am studying how to become a better rider. I'm looking for a video other than youtube (company blocks it) that can clearly explain and show in detail the real world physics of this action... I'm a bit confused.. I must be doing this in real world application but i want to fully understand the correct application of countersteering... I have a question.. when you countersteer you only apply the force momentarily untill the bike starts to lean over then you lean into the turn? what is the action applied to the handlebars just after the countersteer? do you steer the other way? Rest assured I will be doing limited road riding until I complete the msf course scheduled for april 13th.. I found this video but he doesnt exlain what you do after the slight turn of the handlebars..

2. jasonsmith

jasonsmith Member

Canada
    Map
    CS is the greatest thing. More experienced guys can give you the details but the basics are push right go right, push left go left. You only need to push until the desired lean angle is achieved... pending your speed and corner.

A bikes wheels are like gyros, they want to stay up when spinning. CS brakes that stability. A quick shot of counter steer is what will get you out of the way of that huge pothole right in front of you. I have found with the Gen 6 that I use CS when I am above 10mph - 14kmh.

3. Taz

Taz New Member

Best way to learn is ride a dirt bike off road, barrow a friends.
    Because of the less contact/friction of the dirt it's a must to counter steer to stay up & riding.