1 st. GEN. Fuel Pump

Discussion in '1st & 2nd Generation 1983-1989' started by twowheelracer, Jul 12, 2009.

1. twowheelracer

twowheelracer New Member

Well I looked back a little ways in the old threads and didn't see anything, So has anyone had to replace the fuel pump on a VF750F? Can you still get stock pumps or are there aftermarkets that will work? And has anybody gone to graivty feed only?
    Thanks
    Terry

2. DancingMillie

DancingMillie New Member

i took the fuel pump off my 84 VF500 and switched it to gravity feed - works like a charm, though it jumps a bit when you accelerate from a stop (though that could just be me not being used to the power of my bike, but i thought it was smoother before the switch over - rode it only once before doing so. i'm a noob.). there's some info on it in one of the threads here.

3. crustyrider

crustyrider New Member

Map
    There is a diverse feeling on taking the fuel pump out of the loop...I say keep it but thats just me...others will say that it doesn't need to be there(if it doesnt need to be there why did they put it there to begin with) before you go to replace it make sure its not the relay. your service manual will tell you hoe to "jump" the relay to verify that the pump is working or not....

good luck

4. CARMINE

CARMINE New Member

Italy
    Map
    In my experience I can say that a fuel pump life is more than the double of the relay life. I agree : before, check the relay-
    Let us know.
    Lamps,
    Carmine

5. pjrocco

pjrocco New Member

Map
    I've converted my 84' to gravity feed over three years ago, and when it was running it never had a problem. I couldn't tell the difference between fuel pump and gravity feed.

6. Unzie57

Unzie57 New Member

Fuel pump 1st generation