Possible RR issue?

Discussion in '5th Generation 1998-2001' started by TNRabbit, Jul 29, 2013.

1. TNRabbit

TNRabbit New Member

Map
    I left for work this morning at 5 a.m., and my bright lights only suddenly went out. Now I only have low beams (beats the alternative).

I'm guessing this means my regulator is going out....or....is there a relay for the high beam only?

2. marriedman

marriedman New Member

United States
    Map
    I am not very experienced troubleshooting electrical systems, but this might be a sign of a failing R/R if you are having other symptoms as well. Have you noticed your dash lights dimming when a turn signal is on? Do your lights dim under acceleration? If so, take the rear faring off and look at the white connector. Disconnect it and look at the insides. Are they turning brown? That would indicate heat.

From here, I would get out the multimeter and test the battery in three stages - off, idle, @ 5K.

You know what, mello dude has a thread about this. I am going to try and find it.

3. CandyRedRC46

CandyRedRC46 Member

United States
    Map
    check your voltage

4. marriedman

marriedman New Member

United States
    Map
  5. TNRabbit

TNRabbit New Member

Map
    Thanks, guys~

I had planned to check my voltage when I get home. Just started a new job & have no extr cash right now, but I was planning to buy one of the MOSFET regulators once I get solvent.

6. Pliskin

Pliskin New Member

United States
    Map
    Good luck, TNR. Do you know if your R/R has ever been replaced previously? Granted, it may not be the R/R causing your issues, but the stock one is such a piece of junk, its only a matter of time before it fails.

The good news about checking over your connections from top to bottom is that it only costs time.

7. marriedman

marriedman New Member

United States
    Map