2014 VFR, Yamaha Raider, or 2014 FJR 1300ES

Discussion in '8th Generation 2014-Present' started by emon07, Oct 12, 2013.

1. emon07

emon07 New Member

United States
    Map
    I am a true VFR lover and I am getting ready to retire soon. I will have more time to do more touring and rallies on a bike. I love my VFR and I am in the process of working on a deal to trade - my current 2005 VFR for a 2008 ABS VFR. I am also planning to sell my 2004 R1, my 2003 Yamaha 600R and ole yella 2k VFR. i was originally thinking about getting a new VFR or a Yamaha Raider. Today I saw and read about the new 2014 Yamaha FJR 1300 ES, and I am loving that bike. Interested in opinions on the new 2014 FJR. I am a computer engineer and I like gadgets and gadgety stuff. My VFR is my daily and local (Tri-State) ride, but for distance riding/Two up touring, and rallies I was considering the 2013/2014 VFR or Yamaha Raider, but the Yamaha FJR 1300ES has gotten my attention. Interested in any opinions of the 2014 FJR 1300ES.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AlfR4TQEGTU

fjr.jpg

2. Scubalong

Scubalong Official Greeter?

United States
    The FJR is beautiful but it not a vfour and no single swing arm :sad:
    The FJR wheel bases is longer perfect for touring. Since you selling most of your bike why not get both :potstir:

3. emon07

emon07 New Member

United States
    Map
    My plan is to have and keep the 2008 ABS VFR for local/tri-state riding as my daily ride and the Yamaha FJR 1300ES would be for two riding and touring.

4. Scubalong

Scubalong Official Greeter?

United States
    I thought you also like the vfr 1200 :wink: I do like the FJR go for it you got my blessing :pope2:

5. Rainbow7

Rainbow7 New Member

I'd certainly have no hesitation in recommending the FJR for long distance touring but have you considered a VFR1200? - It has a better motor and you can pick one up for thousands of dollars less than a new FJR. With what you save, you can completely deck it out for touring.