1986 VF500F almost back to life

Discussion in '1st & 2nd Generation 1983-1989' started by Chocula, Sep 19, 2014.

1. Chocula

Chocula New Member

I have an 86 VF500F that had been sitting in my garage for many years. Fuel system has been cleaned out, carburetors rebuilt, new coils, plugs, fluids, etc.

It starts up and seems to run fine, but after a bit it starts to sputter and dies as though it has run out of fuel. If it sits for a bit, it will restart and run for a few minutes. I have confirmed the fuel is fresh, clean and flows from the petcock. I was thinking this was a kink in the fuel line, but I did not have much success trying to correct that. I have not completely ruled that out, but it seems unlikely at this point.

Has anyone experienced anything similar and found a solution?

2. Maggot

Maggot New Member

United States
    Map
    I have no experience with the '86 VF but try running it with the gas cap open. Some older bikes have a vent in the gas cap and with time the little hole can rust shut.

3. NormK

NormK New Member

My first test would be pull the tank and run it on a fuel bottle straight int the hose feeding the carbs and see how that goes, eliminates a lot of things you can't see

4. jeremyr62

jeremyr62 New Member

Ireland
    Map
    Instead of letting idle in your garage, the best thing is to ride it. Putting it under load does wonders. You will flow more fuel and probably clean the blocked circuits. Trying to diagnose problems without riding the bike can be very misleading in my opinion. However it's your bike, your circumstances. It does sound like a circuit blocked in the carbs.

5. 74ullc

74ullc New Member

Not sure if the '86 500 has a fuel pump, but if so that's where I would look.

6. NormK

NormK New Member

and that is the reason for using a fuel bottle you bypass all that stuff, blocked vent, relay,fuel pump,kinked hose blocked tank feed, rusty tank, anything that can cause problems, put fuel straight to the carbs.

7. 74ullc