Gots me a VFR

Discussion in '6th Generation 2002-2013' started by TampaDave, Oct 23, 2014.

1. TampaDave

TampaDave New Member

2004, 35K miles. Sergeant seat, shorty shift levers, double bubble screen. Otherwise stock. Owned by a mechanic at the local Yamaha shop. He said, "I treat my bike like I treat my children" although I rather suspect he meant, "better than my children." Bike is absolutely flawless. Valves were within spec at 24K but he adjusted them anyway because he wanted them perfect. "I only ever ran premium through it. And only Shell gas. This bike has only had Shell gas." It was always warmed up - always on the center stand - to precisely 115 degrees before driving off. The guys at the shop were laughing at him. "You're taking his baby." No one was even allowed to push the bike other than him, even after he traded it in. It was sad, watching him wash the bike one last time. Well, not that sad. $3900.

I have been shopping for a 98 or 99 for a couple of years now, finally decided I could get more bike for the money if I went with a 6th gen. Better suspension, better lights. Love the under seat exhaust. I generally "get" the theory behind VTEC and think it's nifty. Weight doesn't bother me, I'll be using this way more for touring than sport, otherwise I would have bought an F4i.

Menu for the coming months is a cross country trip in Jan. Jacksonville to San Diego, then w/e. Death Valley maybe. Gonna keep bike in Colorado over the summer, gonna take a few days every month to go tear-assing around the mountains.

PO and I weigh about the same (granted, he's about 14 feet taller than me, but still) and I thought the suspension would be OK, but it isn't. Definitely to much sag in the rear, gonna get that resprung. I don't think the front is compressing quite enough, front tire isn't always glued to the pavement. Will back off on preload for now and see what happens. Could use a tad more rebound damping, just a tad.