Carb Rebuild Kits for Gen 3

Discussion in '3rd & 4th Generation 1990-1997' started by rkienlen, Feb 4, 2015.

1. rkienlen

rkienlen New Member

Hey guys - VFR Newbie here (but a long time biker). Just brought a 1993 VFR750F home tonight, and it has been sitting in a friends garage for 6 years without starting ( I know - ouch). Gonna need carb rebuild kits, but can only find them for 1994 and later bikes.

Anybody know where I can get carb kits for a 1993 model?

Thanks, Robert K. (Dallas)

2. NormK

NormK New Member

Read up on here about carb cleaning, pull the carbs give them a clean and you should be good to go,at worst you might need "O" rings, do not split the carbs off the base plate

3. john750

john750 New Member

Carb kits are like rocking horse shit, and in my experience with three different sets of carbs, you WILL need some seals replacing. I'm in talks with someone to get new kits made up but it'll take around 12 weeks so if you can hang fire, I'd suggest you do. Otherwise, pay someone with an ultrasonic cleaner (and plenty of experience) to do it for you, you will have an absolute nightmare otherwise.

Are you familiar with getting the carbs on and off the bike? As there's knacks to both. Have they ever been off as you may need replacement rubber couplers (bits between the carbs and cylinder heads) as these inevitably go rock hard over the years and yours are 22 years old now!

I'd suggest getting in contact with this guy to discuss options:

http://www.ebay.com/itm/Econo-Carb-...Parts_Accessories&hash=item3a8e88c30e&vxp=mtr

Might seem a tad pricey but he has everything you'll need that may need replacing and you're getting a pro job done by someone who actually knows these carbs inside out. I'd have used him but I'm over the pond.

4. rkienlen

rkienlen New Member

Thanks - 'preciate the advice. I've done plenty of carbs over the years, just need the kits for the right gaskets, needle valves, etc.

5. NormK

NormK New Member