How do I ride this thing?

Discussion in 'General VFR Discussions' started by RobVG, May 2, 2015.

1. RobVG

RobVG Member

Canada
    Map
    I bought a 2006 VFR last weekend. I have put around 200 miles on it. I’m still learning how to ride it and have a “few” questions.

Where is the sweet spot- the rpms you normally cruise at? I find on the back roads that 4k to 4.5k the bike runs smoothly and I don’t have to shift much- just roll it on. One of our exalted members (with the same bike) says 5k is good for him. I have to ask this because I have stock exhaust and can’t hear what the bike is doing over the helmet noise.

Also the bike will shudder a little bit at anything below 3k unless your in 1st. It’s not difficult to get above 3k in 1st but it's slightly aggressive in a town full of hungry cops. I’m almost afraid to ask this but was the shudder just from shifting too early? I mean I can ride it smoothly if I keep the r’s up a bit.

I have a hard time keeping it from "lurching" from 2nd to 3rd when I'm off the throttle and letting the clutch out. I've tried to give it some gas when letting the clutch out and it helps a little but I haven't mastered it yet. Suggestions?

When I don't feel like blipping the throttle while shiffing coming to a stop, am I just getting too old?

The bike handles great especially compare to the 700 but I think the 700 might turn a little quicker. I keep riding them both, just don’t have the heart to let the old girl go yet.

P.S. I don’t mind looking stoopid- obviously

2. tinkerinWstuff

tinkerinWstuff Administrator Staff Member

United States
    Map
    The v4 does not like to be under load under 3k rpm.

3. sunofwolf

sunofwolf New Member

United States
    :smash:better get some sliders when you fall down

4. RobVG

RobVG Member

Canada
    Map
    Thanks Tink, I kinda figured that but wanted to make sure.

5. PawnBoy

PawnBoy New Member

Canada
    Map