Play in front wheel bearing

Discussion in 'Mechanics Garage' started by baxtre, May 26, 2015.

1. baxtre

baxtre New Member

United States
    How difficult is it to replace front wheel bearings? I'm not a good mechanic.

2. yellow99

yellow99 New Member

United Kingdom
    Map
    It's not that hard, but made a lot easier if you have a press of some description. You can tap them in using a large socket placed over the bearing, but make sure it covers the hard outer edge of the bearing and not the softer inner edge otherwise you'll damage it. There's loads of youtube videos showing how to do it. Don't buy crap Chinese bearings - you're better off with a named brand or better still the OEM ones - they're not that expensive.

3. OOTV

OOTV Insider

With the right tools very easy. To remove the old bearings you can use a blind bearing puller and to seat the new ones a bearing seat tool. The latter you can improvise if you really need to but the puller tool is going to save you tons of time. One trick to seating new bearings is to put the bearing in the freezer for a bit just before seating it. The cold will "shrink" the metal just enough to give more room in the bearing recess making seating it go a little easier. Although I have not done this, I understand most auto parts stores rent these types of tools.

4. baxtre

baxtre New Member

United States
    Now I've found the right thread. Maybe I'll give it a shot.

5. OOTV

OOTV Insider

To go along with what Yellow, Motorcyclist Magazine has a little video that shows how to decode the codes on bearings and seals, even give a website of where you can get bearings that are equivalent to OEM. As said here too, they say stay away from the Chinese bearings.

Check out the mag video here...
    www.motorcyclistonline.com

6. FJ12rydertoo

FJ12rydertoo Member

United States
    Map