1987 VFR700F2 Won't Start - Posible Spark Generator Issue

Discussion in 'Mechanics Garage' started by marcuch, Dec 15, 2016.

1. marcuch

marcuch New Member

I've been asked to start a new thread on this topic

I'm new to the VFR family. My history is with Hondas of the 70s, of which I still own a number of them. The VFR700 is so much more complicated than my CB750ks. I've read through other threads and it sounds like I'm SOL if in fact my 1987 VFR700F2's Spark Generator is toast.

I've gone through the procedure in the "Ignition System", section 18, of the 86-87 VFR700F/FII Honda Service Manual. All 4 coils had between 2.9 & 3.0 ohns each. I didn't test the ohms referenced in the "secondary coil inspection", but I removed the rear 2 plugs (easier to reach) from the engine to visually see that they all had spark and they did. I also placed a timing light on each of the 4 spark plug wires while cranking over the engine to see if the strobe worked. It lit up with each cylinder.

Next I tested the Pulse Generator as described on page 18-4 in the shop manual. My ohm meter showed 295 ohms across the yellow and white/yellow wires and 300 ohms across the blue and white/blue wires. I could be testing something wrong but the instructions are pretty straight forward. The manual says to replace the pulse generator if it's not 450-550 ohms.

On the fuel side... I drained the tank, and replaced the fuel lines just because. I drained the fuel from he carb bowls. Used the engines started to fill the carbs with fuel and checked the bowls to see that the fuel made it there...It did. There still could be an issue with the jets, but I haven't gone there yet until I figure out what's going on with the Pulse Generator.

Question: Is it possible to have spark at the plugs without a properly working pulse generator?