1st Gen VF500F Re-Bore: Anywhere to find oversize pistons?

Discussion in 'Mechanics Garage' started by StreetLethal, Mar 18, 2018.

1. StreetLethal

StreetLethal New Member

United States
    Hello all,

I am relatively new to the forum and have posted twice elsewhere regarding my '86 VF500F, after picking her up in January. It is truly a beautiful bike, however the engine is in a less than spectacular condition.

I've been working avidly on this thing for almost 2 months now. One thing led to another, and now the heads are off, revealing the piss poor maintenance this thing endured. I'll list below the compression on all 4 cylinders I measured as well as clearances on intake and exhaust valves, as well as factory specs according the Clymer manual. All measurements were performed while the bike was cold, and drained of oil.

Factory Specs:
    Compression should be at 142-199psi
    Valve clearance should be .15mm(.006in) for intake and exhaust

Cylinder 1: 115psi, .18mm intake, .15 exhaust
    Cylinder 2: 70psi, .28mm intake, .18mm and .00mm on exhaust valves
    Cylinder 3: 100psi, .18mm intake, .15mm exhaust
    Cylinder 4: 80psi, .18mm intake, .15mm and .00mm on exhaust valves

My question to the forums would be whether anyone at all knows where to get oversize pistons for this bike, if they even exist at all? And if they do not, whether I would be able to get away with a professional hone and some new(er) pistons, as well as some new(er) heads on both cylinder banks with new(er) valves all around? I will attach pictures of the cylinders as well as valves. A straight up nick in one cylinder 2 intake valve, seems like a crack in a cylinder 3 intake valve as well. Particularly concerned with cylinder 2, the one with a little corrosion on the bottom wall.

TL;DR anywhere to get oversize pistons/rings or a big bore kit for an '86 VF500F or V30 Magna?

Attached Files:

2. squirrelman

squirrelman Member

United States
    Map