98 VFR Purchase

Discussion in '5th Generation 1998-2001' started by AZ_VFR_98, Feb 1, 2018.

1. AZ_VFR_98

AZ_VFR_98 New Member

United States
    Hey there VFR folk,

New member to the forum and the new owner of an all original 5th gen. The gentleman I purchased it from found the bike to be too much for him and had kept it all original. Bone stock with one possible exception, the R/R looks aftermarket, which from my understanding is a good thing. I am the 4th owner and it had remained in AZ for its entire life.

35XXX miles
    Basic maintenance always done by shops, and includes receipts from the last owner.
    Paid $2300 - How did I do?

The big question I have is about the R/R. Until I can upload pics, I can describe it - it has cooling fins, grey in color and a part number SH6890A - can anyone help identify if this is an aftermarket unit?

This is also my first bike, and I find it to be perfect for my skill level. Not a complete newbie, I took a motorcycle safety course and found it well worth my time.

Attached Files:

dnbosiris, Samuel and Lint like this.
  2. stubbs

stubbs New Member

United States
    That’s a good looking bike, I think you did well. You will want to look into some new rubber, as that front tire is fairly cupped (a common problem with those pilot road 2s).

A new clutch lever is also a good idea.

I paid a bit less than that for my 37k mile ‘99 last fall in rougher shape, and I’ve had to sink $600 or so into tires and routine maintenance. If you’ve got a solid maintenance history, that’s worth a lot.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

3. adk_finn

adk_finn New Member

United States
    Map
    Nice bike. I agree, I think you did well. I picked up my red 98 in the fall with 25k mi on the clock for a bit less. It had a few upgrades - TBR slip on, double bubble wind screen, but needed tires and a battery. At the end of the day if you are happy with the purchase that is all that counts.

4. mello dude

mello dude Administrator

Romania