Chain confussion

Discussion in '8th Generation 2014-Present' started by headshrink, May 9, 2018.

  1. headshrink

    headshrink New Member

    Country:
    United States
    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2018
    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Folsom, CA
    Well, my chain is done. Service manual says it's a 525 pitch, 110 link. Parts suppliers keep displaying 530 pitch chains matched with my bike, and lots of people around here are mentioning different sizes. What do I get?
     
  2. Bubba Utah

    Bubba Utah Member

    Country:
    United States
    Joined:
    May 27, 2016
    Messages:
    1,120
    Likes Received:
    215
    Trophy Points:
    93
    Location:
    Utah
    Map
    Your chain is done? How many miles do you have on it? Just curious.
     
  3. headshrink

    headshrink New Member

    Country:
    United States
    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2018
    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Folsom, CA
    Just over 4k. Bike is new-to-me, and previous owner didn't properly care for it for two years of storage.
     
  4. Bubba Utah

    Bubba Utah Member

    Country:
    United States
    Joined:
    May 27, 2016
    Messages:
    1,120
    Likes Received:
    215
    Trophy Points:
    93
    Location:
    Utah
    Map
    Shit that sucks, but I am bad at chain maintenance as well. I have 5600 miles on the chain. I just inspected it and it has some wear that I should have attended to earlier. But I just bought a Scottoiler system and need to install it. I hope that I can save it for another few thousand miles. So much shit about what lube to use and some more adverse than others. I have never asked or know what a o ring chain well maintained should last. I have only changed one after 23,000 miles noting that I suck at maintenance. but I also have never ridden one bike more than that mileage. I'm going to google that right now. I do look forward to a response from someone more educated and experience on the chain for the 14' if any have changed the chain. Thanks
     
  5. Lint

    Lint Member

    Country:
    United States
    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2012
    Messages:
    4,607
    Likes Received:
    646
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Simi Valley, Ca.
    Map
    You can easily use a 520 chain and sprockets. If they can withstand 1000cc race bikes, they will work on your bike. Proper care will keep it around for a long time.

    Please replace the set. Don't be cheap in the wrong way.
     
    Corrugated likes this.
  6. headshrink

    headshrink New Member

    Country:
    United States
    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2018
    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Folsom, CA
    So I can buy whatever?
     
  7. fink

    fink Insider

    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2013
    Messages:
    976
    Likes Received:
    205
    Trophy Points:
    73
    Location:
    Ardnamurchan Penninsula, Scotland
    Map
    How do you know it’s done?

    Mines on 20k and I’ve only adjusted it twice ( have scottoiler fitted).

    When I replace them I go with what’s in the manual.
     
  8. fatshoutybloke

    fatshoutybloke New Member

    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Messages:
    195
    Likes Received:
    24
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Essex, UK
    Map
    The previous gens all used 530, that's why any search for VFR800 chain will come back with that. You're right that the 8th has 525 as standard but they don't differentiate! Like Fink, with a Tutoro oiler, I'm still on the original chain at 29,000 miles.
     
  9. Thumbs

    Thumbs Insider

    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2015
    Messages:
    445
    Likes Received:
    99
    Trophy Points:
    58
    Location:
    Bath(ish)
    Map
    I don't run a chain oiler, I do however lube it every week if not sooner and I'm at 20k with only a single adjustment

    The chains are O ring so although it may look rough it's worth a can of WD 40 to clean it and see if there are any tight spots

    Lint ... Honda ran a 525 chain on John McGuiness Fireblade at the IOM one year, it snapped after 2 laps
     
    Lint likes this.
  10. Lint

    Lint Member

    Country:
    United States
    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2012
    Messages:
    4,607
    Likes Received:
    646
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Simi Valley, Ca.
    Map
    That sounds like a chain failure. The 214hp Ducati Panigale V4, double the VFR torque and horsepower uses a 525 chain. I'll be switching to a 520 as soon as I can, due to the proven fact that it allows more power to the rear wheel. If 200hp bikes use them daily, they will be just fine on my 100hp/53lbft vfr
     
  11. carlgustav

    carlgustav New Member

    Country:
    United States
    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2008
    Messages:
    334
    Likes Received:
    19
    Trophy Points:
    33
    Location:
    Heart of Dixie
    Map
    I presently run 520 setups on all 4 bikes I use; street, sport touring, track, and some trail, no problems for years now. Just don't skimp on a quality chain/mfg :smile:.

    ACE
     
    Lint likes this.
  12. NorcalBoy

    NorcalBoy New Member

    Country:
    United States
    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2007
    Messages:
    4,238
    Likes Received:
    67
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Desert Southwest
    Map
    I agree, unless you are loading the thing up like a Winnebago. I put 520 chain kits on everything. DID ERV3.
     
  13. 2027Matt

    2027Matt Insider

    Country:
    United States
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2017
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Garfield Heights, Ohio
    Map
    Race bikes replace the chain every race. You can use a smaller weaker chain with new sprockets, or you can use a 525. It's up to you. Your sprokets are probably fine.
     
  14. headshrink

    headshrink New Member

    Country:
    United States
    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2018
    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Folsom, CA
    Half the plates, the ones that were likely exposed to weather during storage, have a crust of corrosion on them. It's really embarrassing, and I feel like I have to justify it when I show off the new bike, reminding people I just bought it like that. Shockingly I don't have frozen links YET, so since I'm tight on $$ I was going to replace the nasty pieces as needed, and of course keep up on my chain maintenance. When I was leaving work yesterday the chain failed visual inspection.... half a broken and hardened O ring was sticking out like a first pube. I may be safe riding this week, but I feel like I need to get the parts order in and replace it sooner than later.

    I'm looking at this chain: DID 525VW
    From what I can tell this is what the manual calls for.
    I believe it also comes with a rivet type master. I usually have to buy them separate, but the Q&A confirms rivet.

    Since the mileage is soooo low, is it cool to replace without replacing either sprocket???
    I never needed to on my smaller bikes, but they didn't have much torque, so they didn't wear hardly at all. I want to do it all right, but don't want to spend $$ if it isn't necessary.

    Also, in order to remove the sprocket cover, the manual says I need to remove the slave cylinder. Under that procedure it says to drain the clutch fluid. Is it actually necessary to drain the fluid since I essentially just need to shove the slave cylinder out of the way??? I don't want to do it if it's not necessary, but It isn't clear to me. The illustration looks like it MIGHT split the unit when the bolts are loosened, and if that is the case fluid would spill.... so gotta be prepared.
     
    Last edited: May 10, 2018
  15. Lint

    Lint Member

    Country:
    United States
    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2012
    Messages:
    4,607
    Likes Received:
    646
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Simi Valley, Ca.
    Map
    According to whom? I'm on the track a lot, don't know anyone to throw that kind of money away.
     
    Thumbs likes this.
  16. fink

    fink Insider

    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2013
    Messages:
    976
    Likes Received:
    205
    Trophy Points:
    73
    Location:
    Ardnamurchan Penninsula, Scotland
    Map

    If the o rings have gone then yes replace.
    Most new chains have the rivet links included in the box, but check first.
    Personally speaking I would replace sprockets as well.

    Not necessary to drain clutch fluid but make sure you use a tywrap over the slave cylinder so it shouldn’t inadvertently pop out should you touch lever.
     
  17. Thumbs

    Thumbs Insider

    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2015
    Messages:
    445
    Likes Received:
    99
    Trophy Points:
    58
    Location:
    Bath(ish)
    Map
    You could of course get the old master link out and thread the new chain through attached to the end with a simple clip link ....just like we used to do

    Then when it's in place put the proper link in

    If you can't afford the new sprockets and they're not worn much, then go ahead, the chain and sprockets life will be shortened, but you'll get about 10k out of them before they need replacing

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: May 11, 2018
  18. SlideRule

    SlideRule New Member

    Country:
    United States
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    Temecula, CA
    Map
    I replaced my first chain on the 8th gen at around 20k miles with a DID 530 set, as I needed it right away and sprocketcenter had 6th gen sets in stock. It fit fine and lasted nearly 30 thousand miles. I replaced that chain with an RK 530 set since sprocketcenter didn't have the DID kit in stock; and wasn't happy with the longevity: it only lasted 18k miles. I replaced that with a DID ZVMX 520 set around 8k miles ago and it appears to be holding up great.

    If the bike only has four thousand miles on it and the o-rings are failing; I'd definitely replace the chain, and the sprockets are probably fine (assuming you install another 525 chain). Even though the chain pitch is the same between 520, 525 and 530 - the width of the rollers are different between all three. You will need to buy matching sprockets if you change your chain from the original 525.
     
  19. headshrink

    headshrink New Member

    Country:
    United States
    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2018
    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Folsom, CA
    I ordered the 525 DID and OE sprockets.

    Unfortunately I got this today:
    "Thank you again for your purchase from BikeBandit.com. Due to high demand, the manufacturer has informed us that the item(s) listed below are backordered, and are potentially unavailable. If your order included additional items that are not listed below, those items will still be processed and shipped as soon as possible.

    If the status of the item(s) has not changed after 25 days, we will cancel these item(s) from your order and you will not be charged.

    SPROCKET (16T) $43.65 Back Order"



    Edit: Since online parts suppliers generally drop-ship, if I went to another seller would I likely have the same problem with a back-order?
     
    Last edited: May 14, 2018
  20. Lint

    Lint Member

    Country:
    United States
    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2012
    Messages:
    4,607
    Likes Received:
    646
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Simi Valley, Ca.
    Map
    Doubtful
     
Related Topics

Share This Page