Gen 6 Cam problems poll

Discussion in 'Anything Goes' started by geezerider, Oct 3, 2006.

?

Have you had to repair your 6th Gen Cam chain?

1. Yes!

0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  2. No!

19 vote(s)
    95.0%
  3. Unsure, replaced it during rebuild to be safe.

1 vote(s)
    5.0%
  1. geezerider

geezerider New Member

I'm new to VFR's although I'm not new to motorcycling. I've owned bikes since 1965.

All my motorcycles had cam chains, except my restored '83 CX650. None of them ever had a problem, including my '05 VFR. Granted, the VFR only has 13K miles so I don't have a lot of experience with it.

I've read a lot of schmaltz on various forums concerning the lack or reliability of Honda Cam chain systems, so here's an attempt to actually gauge the level of the perceived problem.

Gen 6 owners, have you ever had a Cam Chain or Tensioner problem that required tearing down your motor? If so how many miles when it happened? If not, how many miles on your bike to date?

2. seadooloo

seadooloo New Member

No problems, and want to keep it that way. 18,500 mi and counting.

3. Nailer45

Nailer45 New Member

The problem is not the cam chains , but Hondas cheap Cam chain tensioners. Honda cant seem to make a tensioner woth a crap, thats why I ride a 5th gen with gear driven cams...When the tensioners go bad and you keep riding the chains going from slack to tight will eat at the cam chain guides ...I had the same problem on 1983,1984 VF750F models I owned and believe me its a pain to change them out ...Most noticeable at idle as the rattling noise can drive you nuts..

4. Hopsterman

Hopsterman New Member

Australia
    Map
    I had a problem with gear driven cams on my 87 vfr700!!!

Brand new bike, after about 6 months, the backlash spring retainers on a couple of the cams broke, causing a helluva racket. Very lucky there was no secondary damage.

Honda replaced them for free - but theres a vote against gear driven cams.