Help, I'm new to VFR's, helibars or genmar risers?

Discussion in 'Introductions' started by AlphaWolff, May 6, 2008.

1. AlphaWolff

AlphaWolff New Member

United States
    Map
    I just recently picked up my 2004 VFR, and am planning to get handlebar risers. I have been reading a lot of threads about the Helibars vs. the Genmar risers. I want to reduce the weight on my hands, while changing the handling of the bike as little as possible, and I understand that may be asking a lot...

I'm sorry if this question has been answered, but in all my digging, I can't seem to find a good pic or diagram of the Genmar's being installed. I'm leaning toward Genmar, for a couple of reasons. They will be easier to install and remove if I decide I only want them for trips, and, correct me if I'm wrong, they don't change the handle bar position quite as much as helibars.

My concern is this: If I install the Genmar risers, does that reduce the grip the handlebars have on the top of the forks? Has anyone ever had one fail, or come off completely?

I've only had my VFR for a week or so, and its been in the shop getting the valves adjusted and a full service, so yes, I am brand new...Any help would be greatly appreciated!

2. STEVE MANKIN

STEVE MANKIN New Member

Map
    just installed mine...grip seems to be fine ..goes on easy....quality product....trip comin up....will see how much weight they take off the wrists..

3. Rogue

Rogue New Member

United Kingdom
    Hi.

No1:
    If you're new to the bike why not take the time to allow yourself to "bed in" ..after all, Honda do kinda know what they are doing as regards riding position.
    No2:
    Yes the Genmars (or my alternatives) do reduce the grip on the top of the fork leg..however, unless you're really stupid and install them with a minimum of grip (less than 1/2 the clipon gripping) then it won't be a problem.