New rider

Discussion in 'Introductions' started by BR.vfr, Sep 10, 2017.

1. BR.vfr

BR.vfr New Member

United States
    hey everyone, I'm a new rider and we'll it happened already. I low sided my bike on my way home trying to avoid a car. I'm fine just a couple of bumps and bruises (I had gear on). My bike on the other hand has seen better days.
    I have a 96 vfr 750 streetfighter
    Any tips and advice to get my baby back on the road would be greatly appreciated. I have no motorcycle mechanic experience, but I want to tackle this myself thank you

Attached Files:

2. squirrelman

squirrelman Member

United States
    Map
    smartest thing would have been to take a riding school first ! :Cry: you got an expensive lesson already.

duccmann likes this.
  3. BR.vfr

BR.vfr New Member

United States
    I did, but I've only been riding for half a year. I was in the middle of turning into a street when a car tried to pull out left. I straightened the bike out to avoid the car and leaned again to avoid the curb, but lost traction.

4. lone_wolf

lone_wolf New Member

United States
    That sucks. Too bad that happened but don't be too hard on yourself. Things like that happen to new and experienced riders.
    You were wearing gear and that is one of the best things you can do.

If you haven't already inspect and take down notes about what is okay with the bike and what isn't. Then just go from there. Address the most important stuff first that make the bike go. Save cosmetics for last.

derstuka likes this.
  5. skimad4x4

skimad4x4 "Official" VFRWorld Greeter

France
    Map
    Hi and welcome to the MadHouse

That is a tough start to your riding career.

Please don't let it put you off. Focus on the positive points - your gear worked and you walked away.

Now take your time before committing to repair, it may not be the best answer for your wallet.