oil and filter thread

Discussion in '8th Generation 2014-Present' started by armod, Aug 26, 2017.

  1. 34468 Randy

    34468 Randy Active Member

    Country:
    Canada
    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2007
    Messages:
    12,069
    Likes Received:
    396
    Trophy Points:
    128
    Location:
    Chilliwack, BC Canada
    Map
    Someone here torqued his oil pan drain plug so tight it stripped the threads out of the pan. Idiot. But I did learn.:oops:
     
    Bubba Utah and XRedJar like this.
  2. Allyance

    Allyance Insider

    Country:
    United States
    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2013
    Messages:
    3,055
    Likes Received:
    173
    Trophy Points:
    108
    Location:
    East Bay, California
    Map
    IMG_0168.png
    K&N Oil filter courtesy of AM. Out in the middle of nowhere!! She did a great job of keeping the upright, considering the bike was a bit top heavy.
     
    PetePower, Thumbs and Bubba Utah like this.
  3. armod

    armod New Member

    Country:
    Australia
    Joined:
    May 20, 2017
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Perth, Western Australia
    Map
    My mechanic said he's seen oil pans crack from over torqued drain plugs.
     
    XRedJar likes this.
  4. Gator

    Gator Insider

    Country:
    United States
    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2012
    Messages:
    4,245
    Likes Received:
    347
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Boynton Beach, FL
    Map
    Thumbs likes this.
  5. Diving Pete

    Diving Pete Insider

    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2016
    Messages:
    734
    Likes Received:
    162
    Trophy Points:
    73
    Location:
    London
    Map
    My old Honda Accord had a cracked oil pan - it leaked all the time & my wife wouldn't let me park on the driveway due to the leak. I sealed up the drain plug (JB WELD) & used to change the oil with a vacuum pump - made it a hole lot easier to change the oil...
     
  6. Gator

    Gator Insider

    Country:
    United States
    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2012
    Messages:
    4,245
    Likes Received:
    347
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Boynton Beach, FL
    Map
    Now that is inventive. No mess too.
     
  7. philois1984

    philois1984 New Member

    Country:
    Australia
    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2016
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    Queensland, Australia
    Map
    Just did an oil and filter change for the first time on a VFR (8th Gen) No real issues, I have T-Rex sliders fitted and they get in the way when trying to remove/refit the upper Honda clips, just adds another 15 min to the job. Also discovered the torque wrench I was planning to use wont fit behind the exhaust headers, while I do have a smaller one the drive was a different size to the oil filter wrench so will have to buy an adapter. Took a guess using normal wrench, will keep my eye on it for a few 100km. no problems after letting it idle for 10 min. Heading off on a 430km ride tomorrow so fingers crossed. will take some spare oil incase but I am not really expecting any issues. Used a Gen Honda filter BTW
     
  8. mikem317

    mikem317 New Member

    Country:
    United States
    Joined:
    May 26, 2017
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    3
    You don't need a torque wrench to install the new oil filter. I know Honda might recommend it so it's to "spec" but I just do it "hand tight" and it's always worked for me on all my vehicles.
     
    34468 Randy likes this.
  9. 34468 Randy

    34468 Randy Active Member

    Country:
    Canada
    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2007
    Messages:
    12,069
    Likes Received:
    396
    Trophy Points:
    128
    Location:
    Chilliwack, BC Canada
    Map
    I would hit the "like" button a dozen times on this but it makes no difference. I just screw the filter on until the gasket stops it from spinning. Then maybe another 1/2 turn or so by hand to compress the gasket to the seat and have never had an oil leak in over 200,000 km. I just can't fathom the need for a wrench to install a filter and the need to torque it. But maybe some don't have that "feel" for this. I never used to torque wheels but I do that faithfully now.
     
    Lint likes this.
  10. 2027Matt

    2027Matt Insider

    Country:
    United States
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2017
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    33
    Location:
    Garfield Heights, Ohio
    Map
    My Ducati Monster oil filter leaks if I install hand tight (as tight as I can). I use a torque wrench and a little extra. Why not? It always comes off easy enough. If you notice how tight filters are on from the factory, they must do this for a reason. I think the vibration from the motor, especially the Ducati 2 cylinder, vibrates the filter loose. I use hand tight on a car, never had a problem, but I use a torque wrench on a bike. You don't want oil leaking on your back tire.
     
    Bubba Utah likes this.
  11. 34468 Randy

    34468 Randy Active Member

    Country:
    Canada
    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2007
    Messages:
    12,069
    Likes Received:
    396
    Trophy Points:
    128
    Location:
    Chilliwack, BC Canada
    Map
    I guess the Ducs must be a different animal. Like I said over 200K km and no issues. A torque wrench is not wrong. I just haven't seen the need.
     
  12. Robborboy

    Robborboy New Member

    Country:
    United States
    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2018
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    Cleveland, Tennessee
    Map
    Here is a question I've never been able to quite find an answer to. And I have a sneaking suspicion that it is due to initial short oil change intervals and the fact that synthetic could be moderately more expensive.

    Is there any measurable reason why I see people saying the first oil change should be Dino oil and not synthetic? Both of my previous two new purchased bikes were changed to synthetic at the first oil change at 600 miles. And continued to run synthetic st the 1000 mile change and beyond. Never had an issue on either.

    The only reason I can think of is because as I can tell most bikes say 600 for the first then 1000 for the second. Which is a really low amount of miles. Hell I can put at least half that on in a day or so.

    Sent from my Galaxy S8 Active
     
  13. Diving Pete

    Diving Pete Insider

    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2016
    Messages:
    734
    Likes Received:
    162
    Trophy Points:
    73
    Location:
    London
    Map
    It is so the engine can break in and the rings seal. Too slippery oil leads to a lack of ring sealing and drop in bhp.
     
  14. Robborboy

    Robborboy New Member

    Country:
    United States
    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2018
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    Cleveland, Tennessee
    Map
    Is there a food factory source for this?

    I ask because numerous engines come from factory with full synthetic as OEM. And for every website that says "full synthetic should be used after first oil change" you have just as many oil manufacturers saying it is safe for use during breakin.

    I'm not all too sure this isn't something that is just oft confused just like people saying a higher octane is better for an engine.

    Sent from my Galaxy S8 Active
     
  15. ALAN553

    ALAN553 New Member

    Country:
    United States
    Joined:
    May 8, 2016
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Montville,NJ
    My understanding is, 10w-30 or 40 is just as “slippery” whether it’s dino or synthetic....the only difference is synthetic maintains its properties, what ever they are, for longer. The early oil changes are to just flush metallic particles, if there really are any, out of the engine....that thing about rings seating....that might be a myth when it comes to modern engines...auto or motorcycle. Many cars come with synthetic from the factory, Chevy started it years ago with the Corvette.... it’s properties and protection are the same at 100 miles and 15,000 miles
     
    Robborboy likes this.
  16. Robborboy

    Robborboy New Member

    Country:
    United States
    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2018
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    Cleveland, Tennessee
    Map
    Exactly. Back in the day there were manuals written for manuals for engine break in. The 66 Mustang I am rebuilding has a small novella detailing break in. My 2005 Audi A4 has nothing like that. Nor do any of my modern motorcycles.

    None of the user manuals state anything about synthetic VS Dino. Nor do the service manuals. And you are right. Friction modifiers aside(big no no on any wet clutch system) your weight tells you how it is gonna behave. A 10w-40 is a 10w-40 is a 10w-40.

    I was just ultimately curious if there was any detailed information explaining if this still held true for modern engine. As a guy I had seen say before "modern fabrication let's you get down accurate as a gnats ass". This wasn't the case with the oldies and classics.

    Sent from my Galaxy S8 Active
     
  17. fink

    fink Insider

    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2013
    Messages:
    900
    Likes Received:
    166
    Trophy Points:
    73
    Location:
    Ardnamurchan Penninsula, Scotland
    Map
    Just do what is suggested in the manual and use what grade oil is recommended.
     
    Bubba Utah likes this.
  18. 34468 Randy

    34468 Randy Active Member

    Country:
    Canada
    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2007
    Messages:
    12,069
    Likes Received:
    396
    Trophy Points:
    128
    Location:
    Chilliwack, BC Canada
    Map
    There may be better options out there if you are that picky, but the manual is never wrong as far as I am concerned. I don't always follow recommendations in the manual but don't profess to say I know better. When I did (the dealership that is) my first oil change, I just took it in and they did it. I am sure they used Motule Semi Syn and did so for the year or so that I had it serviced there.
     
    Last edited: Apr 15, 2018
Related Topics

Share This Page