Saddle Bags for an 86 VFR

Discussion in '1st & 2nd Generation 1983-1989' started by arnie1107, Aug 2, 2008.

1. arnie1107

arnie1107 New Member

Map
    I have got an 1986 VFR and am planning on using it as my transportation daily. I am a teacher and have a laptop and a few other things to carry daily and was looking for suggestions as to some saddle bags that you have used and could recommend to me.

Any info or suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

Arnie in GA

2. evenkeeled

evenkeeled New Member

Hey man...I just bought saddlebags and a tank bag for my 85 VF700F. They are Fieldsheer and they were GREAT on my trip to WY. Here is a picture with the bags on. If I get a chance later I'll take some pictures more close-up.

[​IMG]

3. way2faded

way2faded New Member

Map
    did you have to modify how the saddles attached? I was lookin at getting some saddle bags...but ppl said that the lights prevented them from being installed correctly... they look great on the bike

4. evenkeeled

evenkeeled New Member

No, i had them on with lights - There isn't a ton of room for your butt and legs, but I didn't have any problem with them getting in the way. They're expandable and can carry a crapload of stuff.

The best purchase was the tank bag, though. Seriously, that things fits an enormous amount of stuff and wasn't in the way at all. It zips into three pieces so you can take a small, medium, or large bag, or zip them together into to one huge one.

5. MotoMax

MotoMax New Member

United States
    Map
    1986 VFR 700/750 hard bags.