Striped bolt on clutch slave cylinder?

Discussion in 'Mechanics Garage' started by sac, Mar 14, 2010.

1. sac

sac New Member

Map
    Hi, I'm new to the vfr world. Just bought a 1999 model three days ago. Bike runs great with 39,000 onthe clock. Yesterday I discovered that the lower, long 5mm bolt that holds the clutch slave cylinder to the right side of the case seems to be stripped. Slides in and out without resistance as though it has been that way a while. The clutch seems to work fine, but I'd like that bolt to be tight. Can I tap it to 6mm? Is there room for that? Anyone run into this? Will I need to take the right crank case off (I'd really rather not) or can I do it with a long tap? Or should I just ride it since it seems to works fine?
    Thanks a lot in advance for any advice.

2. vfrcapn

vfrcapn Member

United States
    Map
    You should be able to take the clutch slave off with just the other two bolts and then I'd try tapping the bad one to 6mm. No need to disconnect the clutch line. Mine's not off right now but I don't see why this wouldn't work, you may need to drill out the clutch slave mounting hole to 6mm. I think the clutch slave screws right in to the 'left' side of the motor anyway?

3. dizzy

dizzy New Member

Map
    Gauge the depthness of the hole with a caliiper. See if there is room to put in a 'teeny' bit longer bolt which might tighten down.

4. donald branscom

donald branscom New Member

Map
    You need to do it the right way. It is very important before it gets worse.
    The clutch slave cylinder can exert thousands of pounds of pressure.
    It can cause the case to crack or the clutch push rod to get bent.

Remove the clutch slave cylinder WITHOUT removing the hydraulic line.
    Put a small clamp gently on the slave cylinder and piston to keep them from
    coming apart but do not apply any pressure on the clamp.

Now you will be able to see the hole and figure out how much material