Time to finish the project

Discussion in '6th Generation 2002-2013' started by Thereaper, Dec 24, 2010.

1. Thereaper

Thereaper New Member

Map
    I have been rebuilding a 2003 VFR for a couple of years. I bought it wrecked and have most the hard parts. I finaly have the money to finish it. I need advise on the Plastics. I need a whole set. What should I get? Used or new? aftermarket or factory.? I also need the headlight. Im having a little trouble finding one. I am just ready to ride it. Any info would be great and any parts out there like An oil cooler or clutch/brake levers would be great. Thanks

2. Navman

Navman New Member

Map
    Hey reaper, how about some progress photo's so we can see how it's going? The plastics, if you can get your hands on a second hand set in good nick and maybe have them repainted with new decals etc it would have to be more cost effective than new stuff. Don't know about the aftermarket plastics, whether they fit properly and their durability would be questionable, but I could be wrong......have you tried bike wreckers for the headlight and other parts. It's a popular bike so I couldn't image being a shortage of 2nd hand parts avail.

Cheers,
    Navman

3. stoshmonster

stoshmonster New Member

Ebay is your friend Reaper.

Just keep an eye out,those parts you need will pop up from time to time.
    As Navman stated used OEM plastics will be much cheaper than new and you know they'll fit properly.
    Aftermarket plastics might/might not fit properly,that's your call.

Click me>>>>>Oil cooler & lines VFR800 interceptor vfr 800 03 - eBay (item 300505169678 end time Jan-13-11 19:55:11 PST)

Click me too>>>>vfr800 fairing items - Get great deals on eBay Motors, VFR800 items on eBay.com!

If the Seller has other items for sale or has a private store make sure to look there too. It's a slow tedious process but that's usually where you come across those hard to find items you're looking for.

Last edited: Dec 24, 2010
  4. Thereaper