Young New Rider with VFR750F

Discussion in 'Introductions' started by WhiteFalcon777, Aug 16, 2012.

1. WhiteFalcon777

WhiteFalcon777 New Member

Hey everyone! I am very excited to be a part of this forum! I already appreciate all the advice and tips I will receive from the all the riders on here.

Here is a little bit about me:

I started riding almost 3 years ago. I finally convinced my dad that motorcycles could be riden safely and that it could be a great father-son hobby. My dad and I made our first purchase of a several boxes that contained various 1986 Ex500 parts. My dad was the repairman/engine. I was the deal-finder, researcher, and assistant. During this time I did the MSF course and really enjoyed it (I recommend it to any new rider). My dad and I quickly realized that one bike would not be enough, so I helped find a beautiful 1989 Ninja 600. After a few months riding the 600, I discovered that I loved the power, weight, and stability of the larger cc bike and the in-line 4 engine.

Last summer I said goodbye to my dad's bikes and hello to my new wife. My young wife and I moved to Anderson, IN for me to pursue a master's degree in Environmental Science. Then I caught the fever. I needed to ride again. I searched craigslist for a deal a poor grad student could afford.

That is when I found a Honda VFR. Using some spare change, money from my sold electric guitar, and some birthday money, I was able to cough up the $1200 I needed to by a 1995 Honda VFR750F. It is relatively new for a VFR at only 33K. It is currently all stock (to my knowledge) except for a throaty D&D pipe and its missing side fairings and belly pan.

I am still trying to figure out how to best ride the bike. It has a torquey lower RPM powerband like a parallel twin, but has a second powerband above 6K. I am not sure which way is the best way to ride this bike. I still consider myself a rookie when it comes to bikes. I will have many questions for the veteran members on this forum.