1983 VF750f dusting, the story

Discussion in '1st & 2nd Generation 1983-1989' started by TOM4TE, Oct 17, 2016.

1. TOM4TE

TOM4TE New Member

Greetings

I'm pretty new around here, I used to spend my time on KTM forums (my first big bike was a 2000 duke II), but as of last week it seems I'll be spending my time here instead! I had been eyeing 1st gen interceptors on Craigslist for a few months after seeing one on the road, so when one popped up close to home I decided (more like couldn't help myself) to take the jump. I know they have their issues, but sadly none of the newer (more reliable, higher performing, better in almost every aspect) bikes get me quite as excited as these bad-ass looking oldies (I'm allowed to call it that because it's about 8 years older than I am). Bottom line, this thing is eye-candy to me.

Without further delay, here's a couple pics from when I picked her up and first parked her home.

Side note; I'll probably refer to the bike a lot as ''her/she''. I know it comes out a little weird in English, but in my native language motorbikes happen to be feminine ''une moto'' and it takes active thinking to refer to ''it''.

IMG_3205.jpg

hmm... hope that worked. That's on the curb in front of PO's house.

IMG_3214.jpg

After a 30 mile ride bike home.

FullSizeRender.jpg

And this one is here for me to look at when I'm banging my head on the wall and need a little reminder of why I brought this on myself (don't know when, don't know why, but I assume you always get there at some point)

2. James Bond

James Bond Member

United States
    Map
    Wow! That's a nice specimen there. How many miles on it?

And, you provided pics. That's a good thing for new members here. Have fun with that prize.

3. TOM4TE

TOM4TE New Member

So let's start with what I know:

- There's 20800 miles on the odometer, PO bought her in 2003 with 19200 miles, and basically didn't drive it other than to keep her alive every other week. She slept in his basement.