5th gen overheating?

Discussion in '5th Generation 1998-2001' started by OZ VFR, Oct 26, 2013.

1. OZ VFR

OZ VFR Member

Australia
    Map
    Hi all, there has been a lot said about VFR's running too hot.
    I thought I would give my two bob's worth of experience and observations from my own bike.
    I'll mention that my background is in airconditioning design and R & D, so I have a lot of experience in air flow and heat exchange.
    It might not be motor mechanics, but general knowledge on heat transfer.

It all started the last few weeks now that the weather here has turned hot, mid 30's. By full summer it will be mid 40's.
    It would hover around 84C when moving along at over 75km/h, but quickly climb to 98C or 104C, sometimes 112C in traffic or at a stand still waiting for lights to change.
    If standing still it would get to 104C, then fan would kick in and drop to 98C. At speed it was never a problem but it would take longer then I would think normal to drop to 84C.
    If moving slowly in stop start traffic, specially if started moving when bike around 100C, it would get much hotter very quickly sometimes reaching 112C in a matter of 30 seconds.
    This worried me, I had done a full clean, flush and refill only about 8000k's/10 months ago (when I bought the bike) and thought it was all fine. Back then I found a very dirty system & a blocked line to the overflow tank.

Don't get me wrong, a hot running VFR does not worry me as much as it seems to do a lot of folks here. As long as the coolant isn't boiling, I'm not worried, it takes a lot higher temperatures to damage an engine. And good engine designs need very tight running temperatures to keep them working at their best.
    The VFR has the added problem of having to keep a cool head with the badly positioned side radiators.
    Only one has a fan, but I think this is for a reason.