6th Gen evolution

Discussion in '6th Generation 2002-2013' started by scott05205, Aug 27, 2010.

1. scott05205

scott05205 New Member

Hey all,
    I just picked up my second 6th gen today. It's an '07 and my previous one was an '02. It's been five years since I sold my '02 and there have been several different bikes in-between. My question is this, what was the evolution within the 6th gen bikes from 2002 to 2009. What makes this new '07 different than the '02 or the '09? I think the windscreen has a different tint near the bottom and there's a white ring around the tach and I guess something was wrong with the rpm that the valves opened so they lowered it. (which, I must have really missed something, 'cause I thought it was great on the '02. ) So what else? Little things.. Like the blinker lenses, I think they're different, too.
    Just curious, I guess

2. dko15

dko15 New Member

Hello and welcome!
    So I'm new to riding, but have been comparing and researching.
    Your 06 and newer has a lower kick in for the VTEC at 6400 rpm instead of 6800. The display is different, i've heard easier to read, with a different font?
    Front and rear turn indicator lenses are now clear, but center rear brake is still red lens... I believe the bulbs are actlually different besides their color.
    0f course you have noted these changes by now since you have an 02 also!
    Noticed on postings that everyones VTEC kicks in differently.... maybe finickey to maintenance, driving habit or type of gas/quality?

3. scott05205

scott05205 New Member