86 VF500 would need a complete restore, should I walk away?

Discussion in '1st & 2nd Generation 1983-1989' started by leftfield6, Feb 10, 2011.

1. leftfield6

leftfield6 New Member

Hi all, newbie here with one of the dreaded "should I buy this" questions! But this one has a twist, I promise.

I'm not a newbie to bikes, I've got a 1985 Nighthawk S that I have just about done everything to that I can. It's in near mint condition now, and can be configured for daily commuting, or sport touring. Here's a pic.

[​IMG]

So, here is my question. In my constant quest to acquire multiple project vehicles to tinker with, I have stumbled across a truly basket-case 1986 VF500. Currently advertised on CL for $500, I'm sure it could be had for less. I get the feeling that 3 pictures of Benjamin Franklin would buy me a project bike.

So, here's what I know. 1986 VF500 with 26K on the clock, ran up until last summer when the current owner tried to repair a coolant leak, and butchered up the repair. Bike is sitting on newish tires, but other items are age-unknown (chain, brakes, etc).

Here is the real bummer. Bike is painted rattlecan flat black. I mean everything. Tank, plastics, even the freaking frame!! Oddly enough, it's this last one that bugs me. Why oh who would anyone paint that beautiful silver frame black? I'm betting it was done ON the bike, with NO parts removed. I'm betting there is overspray on everything. I know how anal I am. I would want to completely disassemble that bike, strip it to nothing, and start with a freshly repainted (maybe even powder coated) frame.

Man, that's a lot of work. Should I just walk away from this?

2. TOE CUTTER

TOE CUTTER Mullet Man

United States
    Map
    Run. Run hard, run fast and do not look back.

3. tinkerinWstuff

tinkerinWstuff Administrator Staff Member

United States
    Map
    agreed - there are 2nd and 3rd gen basketcases that can be found for the same $$ and are a far more solid platform to start with.