95 vfr750f exaust

Discussion in '3rd & 4th Generation 1990-1997' started by mr_whitehair, Oct 5, 2014.

1. mr_whitehair

mr_whitehair New Member

Hey guys, im new to all this, but im starting to do some work on my bike and i was thinking about maybe getting a new muffler or maybe a full exhaust depending on the price, i was just wondering what you guys have done, or if you could give me any tips for working on my bike that may help. does anybody else have the 95 bike? what are some common problems? stuff like that. Thank you.

2. Porl

Porl New Member

Map
    Hello and welcome.
    I have a '95, and have had a '94 (identical) and a '90.
    These are generally very reliable bikes, and tend to go almost forever.
    Things to look out for are:

Electrical. Simply put Reg/rectifiers and stator. Apparently caused to fail by crappy connectors in the loom as well as questionable design ( I think, others will correct me I'm sure). Easily fixed and prevented though. Some have had problems with corrosion of the circuitry in the instrument panel.

Mechanical: Not a lot unless you count the rear shock. They go off pretty quickly. Either rebuild or replace. Jamie Daugherty is the best source of info and options.

Cosmetic: Plastics are getting hard to replace and have a tendency to be brittle due to age. The tail section likes to crack in various places due to poor design. They started cracking way back when these bikes still had factory warranty. Search the site for various solutions to the problem.

Generally speaking, get a copy of the maintenance manual, replace all the fluids, go over everything else thoroughly and clean/lube/adjust/repair anything you can, replace what you can't.