Abandoned VFR750 brought back to life!.. Hopefully...

Discussion in 'Mechanics Garage' started by JAkrazee, Jan 3, 2015.

1. JAkrazee

JAkrazee New Member

Hello everyone, My name is Jake and I'm new to the Honda VFR. I guess you could say I'm new to this type of bike in general. My only real ridding experience comes from riding dirt bikes with my friends when I was younger. Though I'm new to the VFR scene I do have a respect for all bikes and know a good one when I see it. Which brings me to why I joined VFRworld and made this post in the first place. I'm currently in the Navy, I'm stationed in Japan. Here the bikes the cars the anything and everything Motor-head is abundant and fairly cheap. Seeing as things are cheap here and there is no penalty or fines for just abandoning bikes or vehicles in or near base if you like in the right places at the right time you could find something like the VFR750 I hope to bring back to life. To most people I've shown the bike too they tell me it's a hunk of junk but something keeps bringing me back too it and keeps telling me to claim it. (I'll post a few pictures As soon as I figure it how from my phone.) I'm currently in the process of getting my Japanese motorcycle license so I can take custody of the bike. It's in a rough looking condition but I believe with the help of a couple willing and equally enthusiastic friend we can hopefully restore the black beauty to its former glory.

As far as the bike goes its a Honda VFR750F RC36. Almost all of the other writing on the bike is in kanji. This bike in my mind is pure Japanese. It was left under a ramp in a parking garage for at least a year, possibly longer. There is obviously a decent amount of rust. The clutch lever has be broken to the point you can hardly pull the lever with just your pointer finger. The fairing on that side is cracked pretty good. It was probably knocked over by some drunken sailor (big surprise!) the throttle side seems alright though.