Another FIRST BIKE POST! To VFR or NOT to VFR, that is the ???

Discussion in 'New Riders' started by TJFORBES, Jun 1, 2012.

?

"04" VFR800, Good big guy first bike?

1. YES

72.4%
  2. NO

27.6%
  1. TJFORBES

TJFORBES New Member

I have seen this question asked over and over, so far I have found mixed answers. I wanted to post my own question based off my own unique characteristics. I am COMPLETELY NEW to riding, I am going the BASIC SAFETY TRAINING route; My class starts on Monday. I have my HEART set on a 2004 VFR800, I fell in LOVE with these bikes. I have asked avid 20 year+ riders that I personally know and they say "GO FOR IT" they think I'll get rid of my STARTER BIKE in a month, if I don't get what I want initially. I am a bigger guy 6'3" 230 lbs so a TINY starter 250 will be super uncomfortable IMHO, I am mature and I will not be doing any STUNTS or trying to IMPRESS anyone. I thought this would be a great place to ask the question, because on other forums I've seen answers based off ASSUMPTION from people who have NEVER ridden on a VFR, they take the 800 and run with numbers, that seem to be untrue. I'm NEW here, hope I've come to the right place. THANK YOU!

2. Deadsmiley

Deadsmiley Member

United States
    Map
    Given your size, I would recommend a Ninja 650. It's a great bike for someone that is new. You will learn a lot more on it and it's lighter than the VFR.

Those that say you will be bored with a starter bike within a month most likely only know how to twist the throttle. They don't know how to RIDE.

3. Scubalong

Scubalong Official Greeter?

United States
    Well if you love the bike than go pull the trigger and be happy.......As smiley said it is a bit on the heavy side. But who care you be riding the damn thing anyway :)
    I am 5'5" 140 lbs I have no issue riding the bike just don't drop them. Just take your time and get to know the bike, you either like it or will hate it.

4. TOE CUTTER

TOE CUTTER Mullet Man

United States
    Map