balance beads

Discussion in 'General VFR Discussions' started by howard, Jul 27, 2021.

1. howard

howard New Member

United States
    Map
    I thought I would relate a bad experience, I had a local shop install two new Dunlop q3 tires on my 2003, I was told at the time they used balance beads instead of conventional weights, I was skeptical having never used them. I remounted the wheels and went riding,it was not as smooth as I expected, at 80 plus it was pretty rough. To make a long story short after a month or two chasing other sources of the roughness,I took the wheels to another shop to have the tires taken off and the beads taken out and conventially balanced, surprise, the beads were still in the bags in each wheel,so I had a 3 ounce weight in each wheel placing itself wherever it wanted to be,as an ex aircraft mechanic I find mistakes such as this unexuseable. The shop could not balance my back wheel as they di not have the correct fixture,I ended up making a fixture and balanced it myself. It's a shame we can't count on a shop to do things correctly, some of the shops I talked to have said they don't think beads balance well at 80 plus speeds,I agree

2. 34468 Randy

34468 Randy Secret Insider

Canada
    Map
    I have used them a couple times and have no complaints. I thought recently I had a problem with them but it turned out to be another issue which I resolved. But you are right on the money with the incompetence of that shop that put the bag of beads in the tire. That is just so stupid whether the tech understood the concept or not. I would have had a coarse conversation with the owner of that business. I don't like to see anyone loose a job but when it applies to my safety riding my bike, I vote for firing that ass.

squirrelman likes this.
  3. KP Martin

KP Martin New Member

United States