Engine Failure at 4800 miles (USA)

Discussion in '7th Generation 2010-Present' started by Joshua Rideout, Jun 8, 2020.

1. Joshua Rideout

Joshua Rideout New Member

United States
    I bought my bike used with 1500 miles on it from a Honda dealer two years ago and just rolled over 4800 miles on it. The first owner serviced it at the dealership, I do my own service as i'm an auto tech, using Honda oil and filters, I change it once a year as I don't put on miles very quickly. Since the first day I bought it, it would make a tapping noise while warming up, only for about a minute, until this last couple weeks when it developed a light knock with no load on the engine at idle and just above. I know rod knock when I feel it. I contacted Honda and they said I have to take it to a dealership and they won't offer any assistance as there is no recall on my bike. I'm not paying a dealer to have them tell me I'm shafted, I already know that!

So I've ordered a 2012 engine for my bike and pulled the old one out. I found scoring in the oil pump, The crank bearings are trashed, and the crankshaft is grooved. I found a small amount of aluminum shavings the size of glitter in the oil, and one was still in one of the main bearing oil grooves when I took it apart.

Here are some pictures I've taken. I'll take some more inside the engine as I further disassemble it (It's going to be a coffee table now), But I'll be putting the new (used) engine in first.

B422AF34-5C85-409F-AF3E-55B1A9138676.jpeg 3C604FAC-C052-4585-8760-08DD5258ADF3.jpeg DD2A033C-BB22-41C2-9F40-42FEF01B69F2.jpeg 176F3025-6B76-4C3B-8F13-C7AC49659DC9.jpeg 1202E282-4575-417E-9AEA-1365776D5483.jpeg

I never expected this kind of poor quality control from Honda! They were the one brand for when it had to work it had to be a Honda! I think it hurts even more that they didn't even offer to diagnose if the problem was in manufacturing, They just said no, it's your problem now.

2. skimad4x4