Greetings

Discussion in 'Introductions' started by Suko, Nov 4, 2009.

1. Suko

Suko New Member

Greetings,

My name is Gary and I have been an unregistered lurker on this site for some time now as I have been trying to decide between the 6th gen. vfr and the current Sprint ST. After riding both I am going with the vfr. I have been riding for four years and enjoy riding in all its forms, touring, day rides and communting. I don't have my viffer yet but here is the story…

Over the last two weeks I have been been going back and forth with a dealer on a 2003 vfr working for the lowest price possible. It looks like we will reach a deal this week but I would like some input as to what a fair price is. This specific one comes with extras (that I am aware of) including the Honda factory bags, throttlemeisters, touring windscreen, seat cowl, and a power outlet. It has 19,960 miles and has a new battery and newer rear tire and the only previous owner (since 3 miles) says that he did not take it in for the valve check. It is getting colder her in Wisconsin and there are deals to be had so after checking it out 2 weeks ago I offered $4300, dealer wanted $4625. Monday the dealer called to say they could do $4500. I am going to the dealer tomorrow and am planning on buying it for $4500. Does this sound like a fair price? Thanks for your help, I look forward to using this set as a continued resource that I hope to contribute to myself.

Cheers

2. TimRav

TimRav New Member

Welcome to the forum, Gary!

An '03 VFR w/OEM bags and 20k on the clock for $4500 sounds OK to me, as long as it's in great condition. $4500 OTD sounds better.

-The seat cowl comes with the bike standard, so that's not an add-on.
    -Check the battery to see if it's a Yuasa. That's what the OEM was and what most people buy for replacements.