Headlamps

Discussion in '5th Generation 1998-2001' started by Guest, Jan 2, 2004.

1. Guest

Guest Guest

Anyone know the OEM part number for replacement headlamp bulbs for 98 VFR. Local honda dealer wants almost 38.OO dollars for one light. H4 lights go for about 8.00. On the H4 light the 3 small "fins" on the collar of the light are too small. Not same size as stock.
    any info would be great

thxs

2. Tourmeister

Tourmeister New Member

Howdy,

There are several options.

1. pay the ridiculous Honda price... NOT!!

2. Buy the bulbs at Pep Boys or where ever for $8, bend the tabs with pliers and insert them in the socket. What I have been doing for several years and 90K miles with no problems.

3. Buy the little adapter rings that have tabs to match the socket on the bike and then accept the Pepboys bulbs. Why bother when bending the tabs works fine?

I just bend the two lower tabs back 90 degrees so that none of the tab sticks out past the outside diameter of the collar around the bulb. If you want a snug fit, bend the tabs back about 85 degrees so they just barely stick out. As you push the bulb in, the tab will act like a spring and push against the socket to keep everything from bouncing around.

I would recommend getting the 55/65 watt bulb to replace the OEM wattages. They are significantly brighter but not so hot that you risk melting any part of the light housing as some people have reported with the 100 watt bulbs.

Adios,

3. Guest

Guest Guest

;)