Hello from Chicagoland

Discussion in 'Introductions' started by Cam M, May 11, 2020.

1. Cam M

Cam M New Member

United States
    Short time lurker, new poster here. I have joined the great world of Honda motorcycling with my first bike, an '84 VF750F. I'd like to thank the members of the site for all of the great threads in regard to these bikes, and particularly 1st gen, thank you everyone!.

A little bit about myself, I currently work in the construction industry but previously worked as a machinist for many years and have access to wide range of equipment. CNC lathes, swiss-type lathes, mills, straighten-cutters, bending machines, flat die roll threaders, round die roll threaders, cut threaders, and well anything else made in the last century... you just have to find it in the shop. I am more than willing to do contract manufacturing for members of this forums projects, even up to large quantities. Contact me with your ideas.

I picked up my bike from a guy who had stored it for the better part of two decades, unused. The bike currently has 5000 miles on the clock... still fresh! As you can imagine it had some issues. *I will work on getting pictures for you guys as I have time this week*

Build Log:

- Purchased Easter weekend 2020, battery dead, pushed in gear to make sure motor spins freely. Bike looks as expected for 5000 miles only.

-Purchased a battery, drained the gas (not rusty but boy did this turn gummy), and tried starting. No surprise, it only ran on the choke, but it ran!

-Carburetor stack pulled for cleaning. Removing these from a V4 is no joke. Jets, bowls, etc.. cleaned. Diaphragms looked perfect. Float level set per service manual. Re-installation was even worse as you could have guessed. I went with the method of placing all the boots crooked facing upwards. That, some beer, and some grunts seemed to get it back together.