How do I know my Carburetor needs to be serviced?

Discussion in '3rd & 4th Generation 1990-1997' started by Baystreets510, Jan 21, 2014.

1. Baystreets510

Baystreets510 New Member

Hey guys sorry I'm still new to the mechanics of my bike, it's a 1991 Honda VFR 750F and I can't find any place that has Manuals for my year... Anyways my symptoms right now is that any sudden acceleration the the throttle my bike dies out.. It idles fine from time to time, and when I was able to accelerate I took out for a test run and it seems fine under 4 RPMs but when it goes above it chokes out and dies. I can be rolling and pop my clutch to start it again but as soon as I hit the throttle I'll choke out. Now I've tries carb cleaner, I haven't checked any tubes and defined not going to rebuild the carb (as I'm still new..) I can slowly accelerate it above 4 RPMs when in idle but not in gear. Before I shell out cash to the mechanics, can anybody help me out with possibilities of what could be wrong? I don't want to be clueless when I bring it to them... Thanks again in advance guys

2. skimad4x4

skimad4x4 "Official" VFRWorld Greeter

France
    Map
    Hmm.

I'm not sure I should attempt to offer any advice on this one as its been ages since I last had a bike with carburettors - but I can see you are not getting much by way of response to your question.

Please don't see this as me having a go at you, but I rather think you need to offer a lot more information before people on here are able/willing to offer even generic advice.

When reading through your post, it prompted a whole heap of questions which you probably already know the answer to, but without which, it is nigh on impossible to make sensible suggestions from the other side of the planet.