new member from south wales

Discussion in 'Introductions' started by openroad83, Jul 31, 2014.

1. openroad83

openroad83 New Member

Hello all. i'm nathan. (openroad83) just thought i would introduce myself. i'm from south wales uk. but not welsh before the sheep banter starts lol. i've been riding for about 6 yrs. ive had a few bike. from virago535 (1st) vfr750 (2nd) bandit 600 (3rd) zzr1100 (4th) tdm850 (5th) bandit1200s (6th) and now ive just purcahsed a VFR800 vtec 2003 with 14000miles which i'll be picking up on sunday. looking forward to that day. i took a test ride on a 2004 on tuesday and i loved it. so that sealed the deal. the bike ive bought is standard apart from the panniers. anything i need to look for on my 2003. i know i've got an expensice service coming up at 16000. what is done on this service?

thanks all that replys

nathan

2. Pliskin

Pliskin New Member

United States
    Map
    Welcome aboard.

For the 16K service - do some checking around here. While its your decision, many owners don't bother to get it done until say 25 to 30K miles, and even then they are often still in spec. So unless its exhibiting signs of needing a valve adjustment, you might want to wait a bit on that. The dealer will treat you like a sheep when you see the cost for that service.

Other things: in the USA, there was a recall for model years 2002 through 2005 for a wiring harness in the front of the bike. Running your VIN by Honda or a dealer should let you know whether or not this recall was done (I'm pretty sure it applied worldwide).

Normally we ask for pictures of the bike or your favorite girl, but considering the possibility of a sheep showing up, we'll just wait until Sunday for pictures of your new bike.

3. Scubalong

Scubalong Official Greeter?

United States
    What the Beep.............You have been a looker since 2009 :chairshot:
    :welcome: to the madness from across the pond :wave:
    Not sure about the history of your bike :noidea: