New Tires

Discussion in 'Mechanics Garage' started by Greg, Jan 11, 2003.

1. Greg

Greg New Member

I bought a 2000 VFR in August of 2002 and I love it, but it's time for a new set of tires. With tire designs changing everyday, what is the best available "sports touring" tire for a VFR? I'm considering Bridgestone BT020's and Avon Azaro II's, but I have no experience with either.

2. Guest

Guest Guest

Greg, This is probably the toughest subject there is to give advice on. Tires today are all so good that when it really comes to choosing a tire for the average rider on the street they are all good. It just depends on what camp your in and how you plan on using the tire, and cost at the time your are ready to buy. The hardest problem being each of us ride differently and are looking for that best fit for your style and bike. In my case I do not consider myself a real aggessive rider, I got over 7 miles on my OEM Dunlops. I did recently change tires and went with the Metezler MEZ4 (a OEM replacement tire, but better) which I think may be the best sport touring tire, (this is what your looking for). In my opion a great tire for that, much better then the Dunlops. But, after riding on them for a short time I decided what I really wanted was a sport tire (more grip, less mileage) and went with the Sportec M1 tire. This tire is even better than the MEZ4, its real confidence inspiring for me. So, there is my two cents worth, but here is a great place to go for both reviews and prices, www.discountmotorcycletire.com. Good luck

3. afterburn

afterburn New Member

Map
    The bridgestones are excellent, both in the dry and in the wet. A common config is the softer BT010 on the front for extra grip where it counts most, and a BT020 at the rear to keep wear a little better.

4. Guest

Guest Guest