New to VFR World and new to sportbikes

Discussion in 'Introductions' started by bulldog87USMC, May 7, 2012.

1. bulldog87USMC

bulldog87USMC New Member

vfr1.jpg vfr2.jpg Hello fellow VFR owners. Im new to VFR World and new owner of a 2000 VFR800FI yellow in color (not crazy about the color). Just sold my 1995 Honda CBR600F3. I love Honda but trying to decide weather or not to keep this bike. I am new to Sport Bikes but spent the last 6 Years customizing Cruisers. Wondering what types of mods i can put on this bike but first and formost how to lower a couple of inches (kit needed?) and add frame sliders (cost?).

Last edited: May 7, 2012
  2. Scubalong

Scubalong Official Greeter?

United States
    Welcome to the madness.......another jaw head :chaingun:
    Thanks for your service
    Will get back on the mod.....when you post some pictures

3. OOTV

OOTV Insider

Welcome to The World! There is a lot you can do to the VFR to make it better. The beauty of the VFR is that it does a lot of different things well. It can be a Sport bike, it can be a Touring bike. It all depends on what you put into or onto it. Funny that you mentioned lowering, we just had a new member ask the same question last night. Here is the link that I posted for her...

http://vfrworld.com/forums/5th-generation-1998-2001/37294-lowering-link-question.html

Oh and BTW, posting pictures of your new ride is a requirement!

4. bulldog87USMC

bulldog87USMC New Member

As requested Two Stock Pics of the "Piss Yellow" 2000 VFR800FI

5. Scubalong

United States
    Hahahaha great job
    Ootvs already response to the lowering question...As for frame slider there are couple option out there, you do need to cut the fairing and the water cooling tank. Let me find the thread for you.....Remember this are not very effective. I bought a set years ago and it still seat in my garage :) I have learn not to drop my bike so often so I don't have to use the frame slider :tongue:

6. Scubalong

United States