New VFR owner (almost)

Discussion in 'Introductions' started by Blowjohn, Feb 13, 2008.

1. Blowjohn

Blowjohn New Member

Hey guys,

I'm going to get a black 1998 VFR 800 (40000 kms +/-) on friday and I decided to join VFRworld in order to learn more about the bike and to discuss with more experienced people any problems/doubts that might come up.

I'm a rookie rider and even though it's a pretty powerful bike to begin with, I think that if I take it easy and know my limits everything will be just fine (I hope :confused:). After all, VFRs can also travel at a slower, more moderate pace. It seemed like a good bike to start with and evolve as a rider.

I'll post some pics as soon as I get it.

Any advice is welcome and I thank you in advance for it.

Cheers

João

2. azpnshr

azpnshr New Member

Congradulations on your new ride and welcome to the site. I'm not sure if they offer any kind of motorcycle safety classes over there, but it'd be a great start as everyone (newbies to veterans) can learn something.

3. HALUN

HALUN New Member

good choise of bike and as you say the throttle goes two ways so you can ride as fast as you want/cabable of
    check the bike for rotten exhaust down pipes and collector boxes on the 800s
    also the rectifier goes on them and fries the battery
    the rear shock can get a bit past it too around that miles but its general a good reliable bike and those are the only real faults from memory,nothing major,I had mine for 8 years and loved it,it really took some abuse and never complained

4. derstuka

derstuka Lord of the Wankers Staff Member

Map
    Welcome BJ. There is quite a few Portuguese riders on here lately. Put up a post asking for them and you should see quite a few. Might be some locals near you.

5. reg71

reg71 Poser Staff Member

United States
    Map