Newbie here. Bought a 1985 VF500F interceptor off Craigslist for $700 can't get the thing to idle or

Discussion in 'Introductions' started by JoshuaLaManna, May 4, 2015.

1. JoshuaLaManna

JoshuaLaManna New Member

As stated in the title I have a 1985 interceptor. I cleaned out the carbs and such already. Got the bike to crank and run at about 4000+ rpm drove it down the street and everything. That was my first step. CHECK
    now my next step is to get the bike to idle and crank on its own.

1.) every so often the bike burps enough for me to give it throttle and come alive on its own power/fuel maybe 1/10 or 1/15 times I try.

2.) me and my buddy have been adjusting the idle screw (big black gear looking screw) and the pilot screws. (The screws on the same side as the Float bowl drain screws) to try and make it idle.

Originally we would try to keep the throttle at around 3000-4000 rpm and it would die by itself if we didn't get on the throttle more. We've successfully got it to stay at around 1000-1500 while giving it a bit of throttle finesse (it jumps maybe + or - 500 rpm give or take when we keep the throttle there. If we just let the throttle go (idle) it dies no matter what. I really want to get this motorcycle on the road because I have no other vehicle. I'm 19 and pay my own bills on a house with roommates. I really need help. If I can't fix it by this Sunday I'm gonna have to put it up on Craigslist and sell it to someone else and hope to god that I at least make back what I paid for it. Every bit of information helps. Thank you!

2. motorhead1977

motorhead1977 New Member

United States
    Map
    Post up your location, better yet put it in your sig line. There are many here who may be nearby and able to assist you. Do you have the shop manual for the bike? When you say you "cleaned out the carbs", what exactly did you do? Did you pull the float bowls and clean all the jets? The passages too? AFK for a bit. Check when I get back.

3. JoshuaLaManna