Overfilled Engine Oil...how to remedy?

Discussion in 'Mechanics Garage' started by BMWguy22, Jun 24, 2024.

1. BMWguy22

BMWguy22 New Member

Canada
    Howdy folks!
    I recently started riding my new-to-me 2010 VFR1200.

While I love everything about the bike, I recently noticed the shop who sold me the bike had overfilled the engine during their "once over" when they took it on on trade. Since I recently had a center stand installed, i plan on remedying this issue on my own. The shop who installed the stand mentioned the oil is about 200ml overfilled, as the top of the oil is visible when the bike is leaned on the left side (as when taking a turn).

I was wondering what the best way to address this issue?
    The shop I had the stand installed at suggested I have the oil changed. But at a cost of at least 170, I think that's unnecessary considering the oil is relatively new and I distinctly had the stand installed so I can do my own maintenance.
    Are there any other suggestions?

I also have access to a oil suction pump (that's how I extract oil on my Honda and BMW cars). Can I use this method on the VFR as well? Or is there baffles/engine components in the way? If there are engine components in the way, couldn't I simply dump out what's in the oil filter and re-install?

thanks in advance

2. Totaled TL

Totaled TL New Member

United States
    Map
    Couldn't you just drain some from the pan? If you drained too much just add back the correct amt.

BMWguy22 likes this.
  3. Terry Smith

Terry Smith Member

New Zealand
    Map
    I would loosen the oil filter; it is easy to control the flow and adjust the level this way. Your oil suction pump might work but I assume the filler is over the clutch which will prevent easy access.

BMWguy22 likes this.
  4. bmart

bmart Insider

United States
    Map
    Or suck it out the top with a syringe and tube if needed. Is 200ml really going to create any issues? It seems unlikely.

5. Captain 80s

Captain 80s Member