Pciii install

Discussion in 'Mechanics Garage' started by Yonan, Dec 23, 2010.

  1. Yonan

    Yonan New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2008
    Messages:
    374
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    TURLOCK, CA
    Just received my Power Commander III usb today. Will be installing sometime this weekend. Any advice or anything I should know before I start?

    Bike has a Two brother regular mount can and a K&N filter. First question, I assume the two brother high mount and K&N filter map from Dynojet will work. If anyone knows of a better map please enlighten me. Thanks

    Happy Holidays everyone.
     
  2. stoshmonster

    stoshmonster New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2009
    Messages:
    1,436
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    The Frozen Wastelands of Wisconsin
    The Power Commander is a pretty straight forward install Yonan. Pretty easy actually.

    I installed the Two Bros."Stash" exhaust system and a K&N filter on my 6th gen.
    When I drove the bike to the local Honda dealer to get the new map installed I noticed there was now a HUGE flat spot at four grand with the stock map still installed.

    They simply downloaded the corresponding map for the aftermarket accessories that I had installed from the CD that came with the Power Commander and tweaked the map accordingly until it dialed out that flat spot.
    For lack of a better word the bike now "carburetes" as smooth as silk.

    Happy Holidays to you too my friend.
     
  3. matt1986vf500f

    matt1986vf500f New Member

    Country:
    United States
    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2008
    Messages:
    2,337
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Lula, Georgia, United States
    Map
    Please give us a update how the bike runs after you get it installed. Ive been thinking about buying one for mine.
     
  4. Meatloaf

    Meatloaf New Member

    Country:
    United States
    Joined:
    May 19, 2009
    Messages:
    1,091
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Indianapolis, IN
    Map
    the install is as easy as can be. i tucked mine in under the seat with the right side bungie as there was nothing in that spot before. as far as maps are concerned, just play with them and see what does you best. there are a bunch available on dynojet's website and there are several available on vfrd as well. the infamous cozey map worked quite well for me and i will often switch maps when i want to go have fun or just want to cruise and save some gas.
     
  5. TOE CUTTER

    TOE CUTTER Mullet Man

    Country:
    United States
    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2008
    Messages:
    6,700
    Likes Received:
    71
    Trophy Points:
    78
    Location:
    Sacramento
    Map
    +1 With the Loafer of Meat, could not be any easier to install and when the weather breaks I am gonna go oot with the laptop and try different maps while enjoying the ride. Just installed the Motads and think playing around with it is in order.
     
  6. Yonan

    Yonan New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2008
    Messages:
    374
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    TURLOCK, CA
    Will do Matt. Installed it yesterday. First good ride and I'll report back.
     
  7. matt1986vf500f

    matt1986vf500f New Member

    Country:
    United States
    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2008
    Messages:
    2,337
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Lula, Georgia, United States
    Map
    Thanks yonan. Could you please tell ne how the harness work like did you have to cut and splice any wires or did it come with some kind of a adaptor harness?
     
  8. stoshmonster

    stoshmonster New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2009
    Messages:
    1,436
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    The Frozen Wastelands of Wisconsin
    Power Commanders are plug-and-play Matt. No cutting or splicing wires is required.
     
  9. matt1986vf500f

    matt1986vf500f New Member

    Country:
    United States
    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2008
    Messages:
    2,337
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Lula, Georgia, United States
    Map
    Well that's easy enough! When I went on dynojets webs site I didn't see a map for a yohsi pipe.
     
  10. Yonan

    Yonan New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2008
    Messages:
    374
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    TURLOCK, CA
    They didn't have an exact match for mine either, but I'm using one that close enough for now. I plan to get a custom map made in the next couple weeks.
     
  11. Yonan

    Yonan New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2008
    Messages:
    374
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    TURLOCK, CA
    It is plug and play Matt. Took a good 10-15 minutes of fiddle with it to get the wiring tucked inside the frame. Other than that easy as pie. Really looking forward to getting to play with it some. Roads are mess right now. Saw four cars spun out yesterday on the hwy 99 in 15 mile strech.
     
  12. havcar

    havcar New Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2008
    Messages:
    1,266
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Denver CO
    Map
    That would be a custom map from your local Dyno tuner. No fuss, and worth every penny.
     
  13. Yonan

    Yonan New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2008
    Messages:
    374
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    TURLOCK, CA
    Thats the plan. Have to go down the rode a bit to find one that tunes SportBikes though. Really looking forward to it.:vtr2:
     
  14. Dragone19

    Dragone19 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2010
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    heard that. I pulled a 12hr one way drive to fine tune my green ride from my area as well.
     
  15. revguy

    revguy New Member

    Country:
    Canada
    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2009
    Messages:
    212
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    North Bay Ontario
    Map
    I am putting one on this winter would love to know how it works, I am putting delkevi headers and eliminating the cat., and have a k&n air filter and delkevic shorty can on the bike now.
     
  16. kevito

    kevito New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Victoria, TX (Most of the time), Silver Spring, MD
    I started rocking the PCIII last month. Best part about it? Smoothness. The bike actually felt slower on acceleration, but the ability to wheelie easier proved otherwise.

    There isn't a map that fits my exact bike, but after comparing the maps in the software, I don't notice too many differences between the ones with custom exhausts (I tried a few different ones, but they all feel the same power gain). If you do tune up your bike, you can always send the map into Dynojet and they'll put it on their site... and up here! :)
     
  17. revguy

    revguy New Member

    Country:
    Canada
    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2009
    Messages:
    212
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    North Bay Ontario
    Map
    Thanks , I appreciate you letting me know your results........looking forward to installing mine, I am in the middle of trying to get one now .
     
  18. dehning

    dehning New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2009
    Messages:
    142
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Lakeway (Austin), TX
    Map
    My CBR1100xx came with a PCIII when I got it and it was the smoothness that the PC created that impressed me more than anything else. When I got my 5th Gen VFR800 running, it felt very rough down low so I picked up a used PCIII actually for a 2006 and just updated the map for my setup. Made the bike DRASTICALLY smoother and easier to ride. I added one to my Hayabusa recently and it helps, but the difference is not as pronounced as on the VFR.

    I got to playing with the accelerator pump feature a few months back and it has by far the most useful effect on the VFR (of all my bikes). I disabled the feature again recently to make sure I wasn't imagining the difference and within a week re-enabled it again because I definitely like how the bike reacts with the feature enabled.

    Just upgraded to a CF Micron and I am trying the "Micron slip-on with 93 pump gas" map and I am really impressed, my VFR runs like a train now!

    [​IMG]
     
  19. wersmokin

    wersmokin New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ok. I have a 2007 VFR. Now I want to put a PC III on it. I have a good friend that says I should do it then he changed his mind and told me not to bother. My friend is a guru of bikes and has many. He's been riding for 42 years. So I want to hear from you guys. I hear y'all talking about it and love it. Tell me what the advantes are when riding. Can you tell the difference when touring? Taking corners? etc? I want feedback.
     
  20. dehning

    dehning New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2009
    Messages:
    142
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Lakeway (Austin), TX
    Map
    42 Years of motorcycling doesn't seem to provide much bearing on an after-market fuel mapping computer that has really only become mainstream in the last decade. That being said, I'll probably have a Power Commander on every bike I own that they will fit on. Currently I have them on my Hayabusa, CBR1100xx & my VFR800. The difference on the VFR800 is especially evident in how much it smooths out low rev power delivery. The bike just pulls more smoothly. I personally also like the new accelerator pump feature, it really gives the old VFR a noticeable pep. I just like the way the bike rides with the PC installed.
     
Related Topics

Share This Page