Removing OEM Honda alarm system from VFR800 '99

Discussion in 'Mechanics Garage' started by ElPolloDiablo, Sep 16, 2021.

  1. ElPolloDiablo

    ElPolloDiablo New Member

    Country:
    Netherlands
    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2021
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    So I got myself a shiny 99 VFR800FI that comes with the stock Honda alarm system. Now, I am a big anti-alarm guy and I'm already tired of pressing the button on the remote every time I want to start it. How do I get rid of it? Thanks!
     
  2. Terry Smith

    Terry Smith Member

    Country:
    New Zealand
    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2013
    Messages:
    2,293
    Likes Received:
    387
    Trophy Points:
    98
    Location:
    Auckland, New Zealand
    Map
    There is no stock Honda alarm system, so anything on there must be after-market.
     
  3. ElPolloDiablo

    ElPolloDiablo New Member

    Country:
    Netherlands
    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2021
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    That's funny, since there are Honda logo's on the remote boxes. But alright, then I'll figure out which brand it is.
     
  4. Diving Pete

    Diving Pete Member

    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2016
    Messages:
    1,938
    Likes Received:
    538
    Trophy Points:
    143
    Location:
    London
    Map
    Probably a Datatool. However, there might be a service mode on it or storage mode
     
  5. ElPolloDiablo

    ElPolloDiablo New Member

    Country:
    Netherlands
    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2021
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Any idea which brand this is?
     

    Attached Files:

  6. Diving Pete

    Diving Pete Member

    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2016
    Messages:
    1,938
    Likes Received:
    538
    Trophy Points:
    143
    Location:
    London
    Map
    Looks like a datatool to me.

    Its probably under the rear seat - take some pictures..
     
  7. ElPolloDiablo

    ElPolloDiablo New Member

    Country:
    Netherlands
    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2021
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Here you go! I removed the screws in order to open it, but it doesn't seem to open freely without breaking anything. Looks like there is still a screw inside that is preventing it from opening the case.
     

    Attached Files:

  8. skimad4x4

    skimad4x4 "Official" VFRWorld Greeter

    Country:
    France
    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2009
    Messages:
    2,098
    Likes Received:
    292
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    French Alps & London
    Map
  9. ElPolloDiablo

    ElPolloDiablo New Member

    Country:
    Netherlands
    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2021
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Nope, different parts. Check my photos above your post.
     
  10. 34468 Randy

    34468 Randy Secret Insider

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2007
    Messages:
    13,474
    Likes Received:
    1,392
    Trophy Points:
    158
    Location:
    Chilliwack, BC Canada
    Map
    Does it work? If you get it removed without damaging it, someone may be interested in buying it. If you lived on this side of the pond, I would consider it. Does it have two fobs or just the one?
     
  11. ElPolloDiablo

    ElPolloDiablo New Member

    Country:
    Netherlands
    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2021
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    It's fully working and having two working fobs. But yeah, no idea how to remove it.
     
  12. Simon Edwards

    Simon Edwards New Member

    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2021
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Berkshire
    Map
    The 08E55MATB00 part number matches the key fob photos and the alarm base. Search for B00 on this page for an example:

    http://www.sapiensman.com/Auto_Parts_Store/s_6/shop_0.php

    It was replaced later by 08E55MATB01

    Both were European Honda options.

    If you can find the installation guide for either of them it will show you where to strip it out. Sorry, I didn't find any in my searches. You nearest dealer should have access to the old guides.

    As has been said above. If you can remove the loom intact there will almost certainly be a used market for it. The replacement costs are rather expensive.
     
Related Topics

Share This Page