The enjoyment has gone out of riding! Have I been riding too long?

Discussion in 'General VFR Discussions' started by JIMLARCH, Jul 30, 2014.

1. JIMLARCH

JIMLARCH New Member

Canada
    Map
    I've been riding for over 40 years. During that time I have had a fair number of big and small bikes, done long trips, raced, done track days, and been to Deals Gap about 12 times. I presently own a 4th gen. VFR750, a GSXR1000, and a soon to be 1989 track bike GSXR750. I recently sold a 1982 CB900f Honda which I owned for 27 years. Don't think I should have sold it.

I'm not sure if it is age, or I've just been riding a long time and have lost interest, but I just don't seem to really have any fun riding anymore. Once a year I take the GSXR1000 to the Gap and have a blast with a bunch of friends, but once I return to Ontario I just park it. What's the point of riding it on straight boring roads, with the police lurking around every corner?

Not that many years ago putting on my leathers gave me a buzz, now I'm more likely to get irritated trying to zip them up on a hot day.

What I'm asking here are any suggestions on how to get my enthusiasm back, if possible. Is anyone else in their 50's feeling the same way?

2. duccmann

duccmann Member

United States
    Map
    Buddy buddy...you need to take a brake...dont sell..just put a cover on yur rides . Im in my late 50's was without a bike for 10 years and ride 350 a week to work.....and go out during the work week when everyones workin and blast the local canyons and lovin every minute.
    Dont ride for a month then see how ya feel...
    Ya screwed up selling that 900F...sweet ride....
    hows your health?

Sent from my SGH-T679 using Tapatalk 2

3. JIMLARCH

JIMLARCH New Member

Canada
    Map
    You're right. Shouldn't have sold the 900f. Mind you I do have the parts to build another one. My health is fine, that's not the problem. Just a lack of interest in riding.

4. Scubalong

Scubalong Official Greeter?