Tires......

Discussion in '3rd & 4th Generation 1990-1997' started by rngdng, Jan 27, 2008.

1. rngdng

rngdng New Member

I'm about to buy new tires for the streetfighter. I have little experience with radials, so what do you guys recommend for a general-purpose, all-around good tire? I don't do a lot of super-fast cornering, and will likely put some long rides on this one, so I would trade stickiness for mileage....to a point. A friend of mine sells and uses Shinkos. He has them on his ZX14, but I'm a bit skeptical.

Thanks,
    Lane

2. RVFR

RVFR Member

United States
    Map
  3. NorcalBoy

NorcalBoy Member

Oh goody, it looks like Nozzle might have a little competition finally.........

4. SLOav8r

SLOav8r New Member

Normally I'm not a big name whore, but Shinko doesn't install any more confidence then Tomahawk does...

That being said, I pretty much swear by Avon Storm ST's. They're more then general purpose, they're great touring tires. The multiple compounds handle serious downpours as well as they handle the twisties. But expect to pay a few bucks more.

I've personally tested them from one coast to another and back... The rear still has plenty of meat left.

[​IMG]

5. two4one

two4one New Member

United States
    Map
    I can't post this enough. Buy yourself a set of Pirelli Diablo Strada's and forget about your tire choice from here on out.

I ride super aggressive on the street and also put A LOT of miles on my bike. The Strada's do everything great. You can expect at least, AT LEAST 7,000 miles from a set with countless knee drags, rain rides and other unfriendly conditions all handled with a great deal of competency.

6. Superceptor02

Superceptor02 New Member

How do the Strada's compare with the Pilot Road? Also, which is better between the Pilot Road and Pilot Road 2. I keep getting mixed reviews?

7. nunyadamnbiz

nunyadamnbiz New Member