Tuner needed on my 8th Gen?

Discussion in '8th Generation 2014-Present' started by Check6, Aug 25, 2016.

1. Check6

Check6 New Member

United States
    Map
    Hello all. I'm new to the VFR, but had two ST1300's in the past, and currently ride a road king as well. I just installed a Delkevic 14" muffler on the VFR and plan to replace the air filter with a high flow filter. The bike seems to run fine with just the new muffler, but I'm curious to know if I need to get a tuner for it...???

I never modified my ST's, and I'm not looking for much performance gain, just better airflow. I'm used to riding my battleship Harley that can't get out of its own way (and needs a new map tune every damn time I look at it), so the VFR is fine for power and performance. I put the pipe on, pulling the baffle out first, to be heard a bit and now I think a better air filter will make things work that much better.

So what's the word, do I need one or will the bike be okay without it?

Thanks in advance!!

Check

2. DriverDave

DriverDave New Member

United States
    Map
    It will be fine without it. I've never felt the need for one, and I ride like a scalded dog.

3. 01ragtop

01ragtop Member

United States
    Map
    As I understand, the headers and the Cat are the real restrictions on this bike. With just a slip-on you should be fine without a tune.

4. fink

fink Member

United Kingdom
    Map
    Could some one please explain this for me as I'm struggling to get the concept here.
    "Not looking for much performance gains, but better airflow."

Can someone seriously feel the 1-2, if that, bhp gains from an air filter. Let alone the 5 from an aftermarket exhaust and of course the weight saving. Maybe on high speed runs but not in every day use.

5. Check6

Check6 New Member

United States
    Map