Weird scratchy metal/jingly noise

Discussion in 'Mechanics Garage' started by okiengr, Jul 8, 2006.

1. okiengr

okiengr New Member

I'm new to riding VFRs and I've only had mine a week now. I've noticed at lower speeds that there is something that sounds like metal rubbing together or something along with a jingly noise that sounds like something is loose which comes and goes. All the noise sounds like it is coming from the front part of the bike and is not very loud. Almost sounds like a dry bearing or something. The noise comes up through the steering/forks area. I've applied the brakes to see if it would make a difference, but still noise. Doesn't make the noise sitting still and reving either. I mostly hear it about 40 mph. When driving, if I let off the throttle and get back into it, the small jolt back forward seems to makes a "tink" noise for a split second. It sounds like when you drop a washer onto another one. Note that these are two different sounds which could be coming from the same source. I am just hoping that it isn't coming from the engine. I've considered it to be the chain but I can't imagine that I would hear the noise from the front instead of from the side or back. It is a possibilty though. The bike is a '98 with 7600 miles. I hope that's enough description for you guys to analyze the problem. If none of you have ever had this same problem or heard of it, I'm going to get it looked at if it gets worse or bothers me enough.

2. jev.

jev. over there

Sweden
    don't know about the jingling, but the scratching could be your brakes. Put your bike on its centerstand and rotate the front wheel and see if you can locate the noise.

3. reg71

reg71 Poser Staff Member

United States
    Map
    that's what I thought of when I read the chink noise. Is there a lot of slack in the chain?