Where does the Speed come from ?

Discussion in 'New Riders' started by Scorpio65, Apr 3, 2007.

1. Scorpio65

Scorpio65 New Member

Map
    I've been out riding with a local group a few times, and find my self playing catch up with them !! I am somewhat new to the twistys but dam!, these guys are fast. :eek: They all keep telling me to NOT try to stay up with them, that the speed will come in time. It seems i'm having the hardest time getting this thing to drop and stick in the corners. I'm replacing the stock tires this Saturday, i'm sure this will help some. But what else can/should I be working on ?
    I don't care to lead the pack, but i would like to be able to keep up with them some, you know, to not lose sight of them would be nice !
    Thanks for any help or tips you can give ...

2. WhiteKnight

WhiteKnight Well-Known Member

United States
    Map
    It's true, the more you ride them the faster thru them you will go, eventually. Good tires are also key as it helps build confidence if you know your tires are gonna stick. Also having your suspension set up right is another key. My advice is to ride your own pace. Eventually you will be able to keep up with them. When I first started, I was the same wayu, playing catch-up. My problem is that, like many people, I try tokeep up with the faster guys. This can help to some extent, at least in-so-far as it motivates you to increase your skill. You will get faster. I did until almost a week and a half ago when I went off road and then down. A friend and I were riding at what was a comfortable pace for me, until I screwed up my entrance and gear selection into the turn. Now I find I have to build my confidence up once more. Some roads I am ok on, others I am not. And if the wind is kickin my ass, I am slowing down. Always ride your own pace. Riding over your head can backfire on you just as quick as anything else.

3. oss

oss New Member