1991 VFR750FL

Discussion in '3rd & 4th Generation 1990-1997' started by Strangwooduk, Jun 23, 2017.

1. Strangwooduk

Strangwooduk New Member

Hello folks
    I'm new to the Honda vfr scene
    Just bought myself a 750 for a whopping price of £125
    It's been sat for 4 years outside
    The exhaust studs have turned to exhaust spikes so nothing left there and I'm guessing they are probably stuck
    Any advice on an easy way out for them ?
    Also anything I should be doing before I try to run it ?
    Obviously going to drain the fuel from the tank but is there anything else ?
    Also I've seen the restrictor kits about but not anymore.
    Can these bikes be used on an A2 license or not ?

Thanks again !

Attached Files:

michael likes this.
  2. OOTV

OOTV Insider

Definitely drain the tank and check for rust, if there is rust present, search the forum here for rust removal or check YouTube. There are plenty of videos on how to remove rust as well as how to recondition the gas tank. I'd also remove the carbs, these will most likely be clogged and need a thorough cleaning. While you're at it, inspect the rubber boots there, those could be all dried up and cracking. I believe the carbs should come out as a whole assembly, if so, leave them that way, do not separate them. If you have any carb questions or perhaps want to send them out for cleaning, fellow member Squirrelman is a carb guru.