96 VFR in trouble needs saving! Electrical prob...

Discussion in 'Mechanics Garage' started by Mikedaman76, Aug 8, 2013.

1. Mikedaman76

Mikedaman76 New Member

Hola all,

New to the forums and in severe need of help. Electrician by trade but this issue has me stumped...

Was doing a long ride from Seattle, bike battery was dead after 8 hr shift. Did the stupid (no choice) and jumped from buddies truck. Got it running, went about 90+ miles and then it died straight out. Blew out almost every light (turn signals, low beam headlamp, and running lights), melted the 30 amp resistor (didn't blow) and blew out my Tach. Checked 10 amp Ignition fuse and was blown (in fuse box at the front of the bike) and battery was toast. Thought I had messed up the battery jumping it, so bought a new one. Full overnight charge popped it in and she started right up...

Now this is the weird part...she went about 12 more miles, stopped for gas and she never started again. She keeps blowing the 10a fuse at the box. Started isolating according to the schematic and am now down to the R/R or something more hidden. I have seen that R/R's are usually a strong culprit and seeing as the R/R isn't even the right model (previous owner spliced in a different type) and the gel backing is cracked I think it might be it...think.

I ask now for experiences from you guys, I have spent a pretty penny already on this problem and I just don't wanna take another stab in the dark...

2. kennybobby

kennybobby New Member

United States
    Heart of Dixie Georgia Boys mighta been usin' dat
    Map
    i would bet that your old battery was weak or in a low state of charge, and the RR was trying to charge it with everything it could, hence the melted 30 amp fuse, which is the charge path from the RR to the battery.